My Birthday Month Wrap Up

Wow, Hi guys. Yes, I am still reading regardless of what my blog has looked like lately! Oops. So before I ramble on about how I haven’t found much motivation to run my blog lately, or that I  lacking the mindset to come up with new content, I’ll just jump right into the books I’ve read last month and also some special mentions.

Now July brought my birthday so of course that means NEW BOOKS! and I am so excited to finally get my hands on THE GENTLEMAN’S GUIDE TO VICE AND VIRTUE by Mackenzi Lee. I am currently reading this book right now and it’s glorious ❤ Seriously, I have a new OTP and I don’t want this book to end.

   

ONE OF US IS LYING BY KAREN M. MCMANUS was awful. I couldn’t stand this book because of the awful mental health rep. I gave this book 1 STAR.. Here is my Goodreads review if you’re interetested.

This is a mediocre mystery/thriller at best. This book had so much potential that I was addicted to reading it in the beginning, however as the story progresses I found myself less interested. Bored even. What really bothered me with this book was the “plot twist” and awful ending. Please stop demonizing mental illness. It’s not pretty, yes, but it feels like it was just added as a plot device to cause shock factor in the end and I am so disappointed. Also, someone’s sexuality or how they choose to identify is not a plot device either! This is extremely harmful, so be warned.
The only saving grace about this book was Bronwyn and Nate (who was absolutely precious to me). The four different POVs all sounded the same as well. I was listening on audiobook and majority of the time I’d forget whose POV I was even listening to because there was no clear distinction between the four.

RUINED BY AMY TINTERA is such a great book! It was fun, easy to get into, cute slow build romance (maybe not, but it was slow to me!), and just a really good book. I can’t wait to read the sequel! 5 STARS.

ALEX APPROXIMATELY BY JENN BENNETT is the cute contemporary that helped get me in the swing of reading again. During the summer, I have the hardest time finding the urge to read because it’s so hot and I can’t focus, but ALEX APPROXIMATELY kept me hooked. I flew through it because it was just adorable. Easy, quick, and a perfect summer read.

   

WHERE SHE WENT BY GAYLE FORMAN | reread via Audiobook. Still prefer this book over IF I STAY. 4 STARS

SHADOWSHAPER BY DANIEL JOSE OLDER | GREAT urban fantasy! Diverse cast, unique, magical plot. I thought it was a bit too easy at the end, but I can’t wait to read more.  4 STARS

I HATE EVERYONE BUT YOU BY GABY DUNN & ALLISON RASKIN | dnf. I just couldn’t get into this one.

  

I have already wrote reviews for each of these ARCs so please click below if you are interested in what I thought of each 😀

THEY BOTH DIE AT THE END

THE RULES OF PERSUASION

THE BAD BOY’S GIRL

Well there you have it! All the books I’ve read in July. I know I haven’t posted a wrap up since February, but I will try to be better in the future! Thank you to all those who have stuck with me and my blog. You guys are the best ❤

Leave a Reply

