The Bad Boy’s Girl by Blair Holden | ARC Review

Title: The Bad Boy’s Girl

Author: Blair Holden

Publisher: Trident Media Group

Series: The Bad Boy’s Girl #1

Genre: Young Adult Contemporary

Release: February 21, 2017

Pages: 395

A Wattpad Story with 160 Million reads online! This new edition contains never before seen, exclusive content!

Tessa O’Connell is a girl as ordinary as they come-or so she thinks. Her aim for senior year is to keep her head down yet somehow manage to convince her childhood love Jay Stone to love her back. What she isn’t prepared for is for Jay’s brother, Cole to return to town and change the life she’s always been seemingly content to live. Tall, gorgeous as all hell and a bad boy with ocean blue eyes and the perfect edge of adorability, he was her greatest tormentor, her number one enemy. But the guy that’s come back is like no one Tessa’s ever come across. He challenges her, he tests her limits, he forces her to bring out the girl she’s long ago buried under a veil of mediocrity and most of all he compels her to consider that perhaps the boy that infuriates her to the point of no return might just her guardian angel.
Warning: The story comes with a bad boy notorious for making you swoon, inducing hysterical laughter and making you question whether you could purchase a clone on eBay.

This was one of the hardest contemporary YA books I have ever read. It took me so long to finally finish this because so much of the plot surrounded around absolutely nothing. Our characters are just hanging out going to high school, which is fine but where is the plot? I couldn’t find it if I tried.

Also, as a warning this book has a lot of fat-shaming. I hated that. In fact, I almost quit immediately after reading the prologue because our main character, Tessa, used to be overweight and basically says she lost a bunch of weight so she could get the guy she likes to finally see her. What? No, that’s gross and harmful to me. To make matters worse, she constantly refers to herself as “Fatty Tessa” Are you kidding me? Why would you refer to yourself like that? I know some people are really insecure about these types of things, but why write a character like this where young girls are going to be exposed to this? Even when Tessa gains a bit more confidence she still refers to her past self as Fatty Tessa. That was just unacceptable and a big part of why I started knocking off stars.

Another thing I didn’t appreciate was that Tessa flung “panic attacks” around all willy nilly. Every time she was going to freak out about something she would say she was about to have a panic attack. If she had anxiety of some sort, I think it could have been explained better.

The only saving grace about this book was the love interest, Cole Stone. He was such a softie at heart that I couldn’t help fall in love with him. In fact, I can’t believe it took Tessa as long as she did to realize she loved him too. He was so sweet to her and determined to show her he had changed. Cole’s flirtatious banter with Tessa is what I really liked though, so that’s another plus.

Overall, this book was a hot mess filled with too many stereotypes and not enough plot.  In fact, the book could have ended at 65% and I would have liked it much more.Plus, don’t get me started on that terrible ending that completely ruined Cole’s character for me. I don’t know if it was added just for shock factor or there was a cliffhanger needed to get you interested in a sequel, but I wanted to throw my Kindle and cursed myself for not just DNF-ing sooner.

Thank you Netgalley and the publisher for providing a copy of this book in exchange for a review. All opinions are my own. 

2 stars because I loved Cole

3 thoughts on “The Bad Boy’s Girl by Blair Holden | ARC Review

Leave a Reply

