They Both Die at the End by Adam Silvera | ARC Review

Title: They Both Die at the End

Author: Adam Silvera

Publisher: HarperCollins

Genre: Young Adult Contemporary

Release: September 5, 2017

Pages: 384

Format: eARC

On September 5, a little after midnight, Death-Cast calls Mateo Torrez and Rufus Emeterio to give them some bad news: They’re going to die today. Mateo and Rufus are total strangers, but, for different reasons, they’re both looking to make a new friend on their End Day. The good news: There’s an app for that. It’s called the Last Friend, and through it, Rufus and Mateo are about to meet up for one last great adventure and to live a lifetime in a single day. 

TRIGGER WARNINGS: death, suicidal thought/suicide

They Both Die at the End literally tells you the ending to the story yet you can’t help holding out hope that it’s somehow a trick or a lie. I’d be lying to myself if I didn’t say this was me the entire story, but still crying at every turn anyway. The book centers around two boys who receive the alert that they will be dying within the next 24 hours. No one knows how or when, but no one can stop it either. While this can be a blessing for some people to say their final goodbyes and get things in order, how absolutely terrifying at the same time, right?

Rufus Emeterio and Mateo Torrez couldn’t be more different at the start of the novel. Rufus is almost fearless and seems ready to take his exit, while Mateo has been sheltered and led his life being afraid to take chances. When the two meet on the Last Friend app (an app bringing people together to spend their “End Days” with) a truly beautiful friendship blossoms. Rufus pushes live and take chances. Mateo helps Rufus make amends and become a person he’s finally happy with being. Both these boys are so complex you feel like you really know them. Seeing their connection become what it does was really special and organic. I am really happy with the outcome.

The only complaint I have with this book is that I wish it was somehow longer. I got invested with the random stranger POVs and would have liked to see the ending fleshed out a bit more. However, the ending (and last sentence) still gutted me and in a way was perfect. I don’t know how Adam Silvera comes up with these gut-wrenching stories, but he pulls on some major heartstrings. This novel was beautiful and truly makes you realize that you need to live your life to the absolute fullest. No more playing around. Take risks. Do something you’ve already been afraid to do. Life is way too short.

An eARC was provided in an exchange for review by the publisher and eldeweiss. All opinions are my own.

4 thoughts on “They Both Die at the End by Adam Silvera | ARC Review

  1. cw @ readthinkponder says:

    Oooh I’m pleased to hear that you liked this one, Dee! I haven’t read any of Silvera’s other books, except for More Happy Than Not, but I am looking forward to reading this. I heard this one is a real tearjerker – so I’m going to need tissue for when I need it, I think. ;_;

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

