My Roommate’s Girl by Julianna Keyes | ARC Review

Title: My Roommate’s Girl

Author: Julianna Keyes

Publisher: self-published

Release: June 12, 2017

Pages: 287

Format: eARC

The day a judge gave me the choice between going to prison or going to college was the day I vowed to stop stealing. Never again would I see something beautiful and beyond my means and take it, just because I wanted it. Just because I could.

When I moved in with Jerry, it was with good intentions. I needed a place to live while I got my degree, and he needed a roommate.

Then I saw Aster.

Blond and beautiful, good, pure, sweet, smart…and Jerry’s girlfriend. She was everything I never thought I could have. Except…maybe I can.

So I put a plan into action. Yeah, I’d probably go to hell, but it would be worth it. I wanted Aster. I wanted her yesterday and tomorrow and every possible way.

But you know what they say.

Be careful what you wish for…because you just might get it.

MY ROOMMATE’S GIRL is a steamy, not-what-I-expected novel that I wanted to love, but just fell a little under impressive. The main character is Aidan, who received a second chance at like when a judge issued him to go to college instead of jail, swears he is done stealing what doesn’t belong to him. When Aidan moves in with his new roommate Jerry and meets his girlfriend Aster, all bets are off.

Aidan, at times likable, is a total douche. He does something so unthinkable and unacceptable to get Aster because “he wanted her” just did it for me. I don’t really care for his backstory or any redeeming qualities he might have had because of what he did to Jerry and Aster. Yes, he befriends Aster and is actually a really nice friend to her and I loved their banter at times, but the connection just wasn’t there for me. Speaking of Aster, she was such a jerk in the first couple of chapters too. When her POV is surprisingly introduced, I was taken aback. I didn’t expect the story to be headed that way and while it should have made me feel sorry for her troubled childhood/life, all it did was make me hate her too. She was so fake that I just didn’t trust her anymore either. When Aidan was trying to be nice to her and she was being nothing but closed off and then magically flipped a switch to be pleasant and polite? Nope. I don’t trust her and Aidan at all and if I dislike both main POV characters… what’s the point?

I had to stop reading at 66% because it feels like we already hit our conflict and I just don’t have the energy to read another 36% about nothing. I wanted to like this book because it seemed angsty and steamy, but it fell too hard.

I do like that Aidan didn’t seduce Aster while she was with Jerry and made her cheat though. That’s why I thought would happen and I was already hesitant about this book so that was a little better, but then again…what Aidan did? Nope.

The writing was fine and it was easy to fall into the story and it pains me that I didn’t like it better.

Leave a Reply

