Follow Me Back by A.V. Geiger ARC Review

Title: Follow Me Back

Author:  A.V. Geiger

Publisher: Sourcebooks Fire

Release date: June 6, 2017

Series: Follow Me Back #1

Genre: Young Adult Contemporary Mystery

 

Tessa Hart’s world feels very small. Confined to her bedroom with agoraphobia, her one escape is the online fandom for pop sensation Eric Thorn. When he tweets to his fans, it’s like his speaking directly to her…

Eric Thorn is frightened by his obsessive fans. They take their devotion way too far. It doesn’t help that his PR team keeps posting to encourage their fantasies.

When a fellow pop star is murdered at the hands of a fan, Eric knows he has to do something to shatter his online image fast—like take down one of his top Twitter followers. But Eric’s plan to troll @TessaHeartsEric unexpectedly evolves into an online relationship deeper than either could have imagined. And when the two arrange to meet IRL, what should have made for the world’s best episode of Catfish takes a deadly turn…

Told through tweets, direct messages, and police transcripts.

Thank you to Sourcebooks Fire, AV Geiger, and Netgalley for providing me with a free copy inchange for an unbiased review.

I am having the hardest time thinking of what I want to rate Follow Me Back and I have no idea why. While the book was fast and easy to read it was also not what I expected. I expected this book to told in more tweets, dms and such. I actually thought it would be a bit like Illuminae. This is what intrigued me, but I was a bit disappointed? I just wish there was more I guess because I have fallen in love with mixed formats.

Tessa is described as a shy, innocent fangirl obsessing over Eric Thorn. Because she is agoraphobic, Tessa spends every minute in her bedroom on Twitter in the Eric Thorn fandom. She recently got a bunch of new followers after she started writing her own fanfic that went viral under the hashtag #EricThornObsessed. I really liked Tessa and enjoyed seeing her try to go through many of her coping strategies to try to beat her agoraphobia and what caused this (something that happened in New Orleans that we don’t find out until the very end). I was looking forward to reading about a character that has agoraphobia, but I do not believe this was portrayed very well. At all. She seems to have just “gotten over it” in the end and while the author seems to try to explain this, I didn’t buy it. It almost seemed a bit too “Everything Everything” to me. If you’ve read that book, you’ll understand why.

On the other hand, I loved Eric Thorn! I felt so bad for his fears and his sadness. He is living his dream and it wasn’t all it cracked up to be. He felt so alone and trapped. His POV chapters were definitely some of my favorite parts because I felt more connected to him.

As for the story itself? A little predictable. I don’t even know what to make of the ending because it feels like the last 5 pages or so should not have been included at all. If the book ended before the additional police transcripts I think I would have thought it was a cute fluff piece, but the ending kind of ruined it for me. It feels like it was added for shock value to get readers interested in reading a sequel (which I didn’t know existed until I checked the Goodreads page) and it didn’t get that result from me.

Follow Me Back was fast, easy, and quite addictive to read. I definitely couldn’t put my Kindle down until I devoured the entire book! I recommend this book if you’re looking for a quick read! Especially after a book that has left you in a book hangover 😉

I am settling on 3 stars because I still enjoyed it, but the ending is messing me up lol 

2 thoughts on “Follow Me Back by A.V. Geiger ARC Review

Leave a Reply

