The Color Project by Sierra Abrams

tcpreview

TCPcoverTitle: The Color Project

Author: Sierra Abrams

Genre: Young Adult Contemporary

Release: July 18, 2017

Publisher: Gatekeeper Press

Pages: 464

synopsis2

Bernice Aurora Wescott has one thing she doesn’t want anyone to know: her name. That is, until Bee meets Levi, the local golden boy who runs a charity organization called The Color Project.

Levi is not at all shy about attempting to guess Bee’s real name; his persistence is one of the many reasons why Bee falls for him. But while Levi is everything she never knew she needed, giving up her name would feel like a stamp on forever. And that terrifies her.

When unexpected news of an illness in the family drains Bee’s summer of everything bright, she is pushed to the breaking point. Losing herself in The Color Project—a world of weddings, funerals, cancer patients, and hopeful families that the charity funds—is no longer enough. Bee must hold up the weight of her family, but to do that, she needs Levi. She’ll have to give up her name and let him in completely or lose the best thing that’s ever happened to her.

review

This book blew me away. I don’t say that lightly. It literally blew me away. I am friends with the wonderful author, Sierra Abrams, and while I knew I was in for a wild ride of emotions I didn’t know what else to expect. I have to say…I got more than that. Sierra’s writing is vibrant, real, and often times poetic. I literally can’t say it enough. I am blown away.

thisisthebest

This book is so vulnerable and real. It’s so relatable that I can’t help, but see myself in it and I think that’s what makes the world of difference. The characters are real, they’re relatable, their pain and feelings are relatable. You see your family and yourself in these situations. So much so, that that’s what had me sobbing. The relationships between family and friends are closely knit and so wonderful. I absolutely fell in love with Bee’s entire family!

But, let’s talk about Bee for a second. Bee is a beauty. She shows doubt, her pain, her happiness, her guilt, and everything in between so wonderfully. She has fantastic inner dialogue that had me cracking up. Her thought process is just a prize. She’s sarcastic to the point of being funny and her banter with Levi is just so cute.

Speaking of Levi, how incredibly adorable is he?! I want Levi. I mean it, I need Levi right this second. I want him to take me to Peterson’s so we can enjoy some delicious donuts listening to music at midnight looking at the stars. Okay, maybe I don’t because he belongs with Bee, but a girl can dream! Levi is selfless, kind, total dreamboat and all around one of the best guys I’ve read about that is just good. Good inside and out. ❤

giphy-5Now while I didn’t really think this book wasn’t too big on the conflict I can kind of appreciate that. It was more character driven. It was about Bee’s journey with love and grieving. What Bee goes through I can only imagine the pain and heartbreak. I was sobbing from almost the very beginning because it hurt. But, the way Bee handles the situation made sense and I couldn’t fault her at all. The way her family stick together and they have such a strong foundation of love is inspiring.

Plus, the ending?! I couldn’t stop giggling because I was so gosh dang giddy! SO MANY FEELS!

I really don’t know how Sierra did it but she had me sobbing and smiling at the same exact time. She broke my heart but then gave me a comforting hug. I am in love with Levi and Bee and this book.

I can’t recommend this book enough. It’s everything I love in a contemporary and I have a feeling it will be for you too. Recommend 100x!

rating2
5Star

Leave a Reply

