How to Make a Wish by Ashley Herring Blake | ARC review

Title: How to Make a Wish

Author: Ashley Herring Blake

Publisher: HMH Books for Young Readers

Genre: Young Adult Contemporary

Format: eARC (352 pages)

Released: May 2, 2017

 

All seventeen year-old Grace Glasser wants is her own life. A normal life in which she sleeps in the same bed for longer than three months and doesn’t have to scrounge for spare change to make sure the electric bill is paid. Emotionally trapped by her unreliable mother, Maggie, and the tiny cape on which she lives, she focuses on her best friend, her upcoming audition for a top music school in New York, and surviving Maggie’s latest boyfriend—who happens to be Grace’s own ex-boyfriend’s father.

Her attempts to lay low until she graduates are disrupted when she meets Eva, a girl with her own share of ghosts she’s trying to outrun. Grief-stricken and lonely, Eva pulls Grace into midnight adventures and feelings Grace never planned on. When Eva tells Grace she likes girls, both of their worlds open up. But, united by loss, Eva also shares a connection with Maggie. As Grace’s mother spirals downward, both girls must figure out how to love and how to move on.

Thank you Netgalley, the author and publisher for providing me with a copy in exchange for an unbiased review. All opinions are my own.

First of all, everyone needs to read this book. Right now. This was such a cute book with a great romance between two lost/hurt girls that I literally could not take it. I wanted to wrap them in happiness forever because you just feel for them. But this book is so much more than a cutesy romance. It’s about grief, abandonment/absentee parents, figuring out who you are and who you want to be. I can’t stress enough how much it was way more than I expected it to be. It was diverse, had excellent representation, and was packed with so much emotion.  I completely recommend this book for all.

First of all, I loved that I finally read about a bisexual female MC. I thought Grace’s sexuality was handled wonderfully and I loved that we didn’t see anyone scoff or anything at her for it. Everyone accepted her (well excluding her mom when she tried to come out the first time) and I loved it. Plus Grace’s voice was easy to get into. You really get a feel for what is going on in her head and you sympathize for her.

Plus, how adorable were Grace and Eva? Seriously. These two deserve each other. They let down their guards and really become each other’s safe haven. Seeing their connection grow was definitely nice and fluffy. Also, loved that Eva was a biracial (half black, half white) ballerina!

Another thing I really liked was Luca, Grace’s best friend. He is such a loyal best friend and honest brother to Grace. I love their friendship! They joke with each other, tell each other the truth even when they don’t want to hear it, and you can tell Luca is hard on Grace and pushes her because he knows that Grace needs to stop enabling her mother. I wish we saw more interaction between Luca and Eva though.

What I didn’t like though was the fact that yet again the book dealt with an absentee mother. Grace’s mother, Maggie, is still grieving the loss of her husband and goes from boyfriend to boyfriend uprooting Grace in the process. Grace is used to this. She is used to the constant moving and rotation of guys, but she continues to make excuses for her or enables the behavior. It’s honestly really sad to read and thought I felt for Grace, I am just a tad bit tired of reading this trope. I can’t even remember how many times I have read about a MC having to work two jobs or whatever just to pay the bills because the mother is irresponsible or puts all the pressure on the kid. However, I really enjoyed the ending and hopefully Grace and Maggie do see a turnaround for their relationship.

Overall, I really enjoyed this book. I loved the rep and the fluff. Definitely recommended! 🙂
Make sure to grab your copy this Tuesday (May 2nd)!

2 thoughts on “How to Make a Wish by Ashley Herring Blake | ARC review

Leave a Reply

