Get it Together, Delilah by Erin Gough

delilahreview

delilah

Title: Get it Together, Delilah

Author: Erin Gough

Genre: Young Adult Contemporary

Release: April 4, 2017

Publisher: Chronicle Books

Pages: 336

 

synopsis2

A story about falling in love, literally.

Seventeen-year-old Delilah Green wouldn’t have chosen to do her last year of school this way, but she figures it’s working fine. Her dad is on a trip to fix his broken heart after her mom left him for another man, so Del’s managing the family café in his absence. Easy, she thinks. But what about:
– homework and the nasty posse of mean girls making her life hell
– or how one of Del’s best friends won’t stop guilt-tripping her
– and her other best friend is so in love with his tutor he might go to jail for her if Del doesn’t do something

But who cares about any of that really, because above all else, she can’t stop thinking about beautiful Rosa who dances every night across the street until one day Rosa comes in the café door . . .

And if Rosa starts thinking about Del, too, then how in the name of caramel milkshakes will Del get the rest of it together?

review

Thank you to the publish and Netgalley for providing me a copy of this book in exchange of an unbiased review.

This book was very difficult for me to rate. I didn’t know exactly how I felt while reading it because I just wanted a bit more? The characters weren’t very appealing, the plot was a little dull, and the romance didn’t give me any fluff. I expected some cute fluff.

My main issue is with the main character Delilah, she was so selfish and whiny. She was obsessed over the Flamenco dancer that she watches every night dancing, but doesn’t really interact with much? In fact, they don’t start seriously interacting until way over half of the book. I just didn’t find their romance to be believable. Or plausible. Delilah made some very bad decisions when it came to running the café for her father. Which brings me to another complaint. What father leaves his seventeen in charge of his café while he goes gallivanting in another country? This leaves Delilah with all the pressure of running this business while it’s slowly going downhill. Plus she has to deal with school. Another bad decision. I just could not symphasize what she was going through when she was constantly making bad decisions and being so prickly to those who clearly care about her. In fact, the only character I really enjoyed was Charlie, Delilah’s best friend. He was such a great friend to her and I really enjoyed their friendship.

The plot was bland and didn’t quite hold my attention. Delilah tries to pick up business for The Flywheel (the café) and this takes up the entire plot. In fact, I thought it was a bit weird that this book is blurbed about Delilah “getting it together” when it clearly should have been named after the café because that’s where we spend most of the time anyway when I found out this book was already released under the name The Flywheel. That made a bit more sense to me then.

I don’t know. I just didn’t like it. I was very angry at Delilah at her reaction over Rosa’s feelings and I didn’t even care if they ended up together or not. I liked that Delilah was so comfortable and self-assured about who she was and her sexuality, but she couldn’t force others to feel the same way? Also, really appreciated the way Gough dealt with homophobia and bullying.

Like I said, I am confused. I am disappointed. I wouldn’t recommend this book.

rating22star

Leave a Reply

