Mini Reviews: A Conjuring of Light, Love & Gelato, The Hate U Give

Hi guys! So I am trying something new. I haven’t really been motivated to write many reviews lately (aside from eARCs that I receive) so I decided that maybe writing “mini reviews” will get me back in the swing of things. I have been reading some pretty great books and this might be an easy way to still put my thoughts out there while not overwhelming me with lengthy reviews.

So for my first edition of my mini reviews segmentA Conjuring of Light, Love & Gelato, and The Hate U Give

Title: A Conjuring of Light

Author: VE Schwab

Series: Shades of Magic #3

Recommendation: Read the entire series if you haven’t and this immediately!

THIS BOOK. THIS BOOK, GUYS! Blew. Me. Away. It was such a huge book filled with so much action and adventure I cannot believe it was the last in the series. I am still in mourning that this series is actually over. I have fallen in love with these characters and they hold such a special place in my heart. The trilogy could not have ended more perfect.

The first couple parts of the book were so intense and action packed, then it slowed down a bit and I lost momentum to rapid read. However, everything still flowed together so wonderfully and you really just sink yourself into the story.Especially when everyone hops on board a ship! Yay pirate adventures!

My favorite parts were definitely Rhy Alucard. I seriously love these two so much! They are filled with so much angst I can’t deal. Especially the ending? Oh my gods ❤ 😀

Honestly, you have to read this ASAP if you haven’t already. It’s such a great conclusion and I am super happy with everything. Even the one part with one particular thing that made me cry my eyes out 😥 was still perfect.

Basically this was me the entire time reading:


Title: Love & Gelato

Author: Jenna Evans Welch

Recommendation: Read if you want a fast contemporary

I picked this book up on a whim because the cover was so cute. Yes, I couldn’t help it. This was a cover buy and I am not ashamed because it ended up being pretty cute. I expected a bit more adventures, but overall it was entertaining. I had a few issues with it though which I will touch on and the romance wasn’t really what I expected, but I can still appreciate the fluff.

First of all, our main character. Oh my god she was so ridiculous sometime it hurt to be in her head. She was a bit annoying and some of her decisions really bothered me, but she is a teen girl who just lost her mother and now has to live with a man who she just met and is her father. Wouldn’t you be a little hesitant and slow to warm? Yes, I know I would. However, my problems were with how she handled things with Ren! She completely shot him down and said she “never ever ever thought of him like that” and then wonders why the heck he’s upset? But she thought he kind of, maybe was starting to like her? Like seriously girl? Are you that dense? She kept stressing about this for a good few chapters and she was annoying the heck out of me. Thank goodness she got her head screwed on straight! Because that ending? Adorable. I couldn’t be happier!

My favorite part of the book though was Howard. Lina meets Howard after her mother dies and asked her to spend the summer in Italy with Howard and her grandmother reveals that he is actually her father. Howard and Lina had a very rocky start. They weren’t talking and it was so awkward for them to be around each other! I was so sad that Lina wouldn’t let him get close or take the time to get to know him, but everything worked out in the end. Howard was such a cupcake and I want him to adopt me too and feed me gelato 😉

Fast and fun read. Definitely appreciated after ACOL.


Tite: The Hate U Give

Author: Angie Thomas

Recommendation: READ IT IMMEDIATELY

 This is the best book I’ve read in 2017 and 2017 has just started. One of the most powerful, thought-provoking, beautiful, heartbreaking story I have read in a long time. Everyone needs to read this book— especially if you’re white.

Seriously, this is a YA take on Black Lives Matter and it is truly a must-read. You can’t just not read it. It’s essential. Within the first 20 pages I was already bawling my eyes out and I couldn’t even count how many more times it made me cry because it was that sad and that powerful.

One complaint I had though was the romance. This book by no means is centered on the romance and it’s just a side plot, but it felt so off. I didn’t feel any chemistry between Chris and Starr at all. Besides the fact that he wore Jordans and was “so fine” I have no idea why Starr even liked him. He was so bland. Everyone else was great though and I really liked Starr’s family and how close they were.

I am not going to say much else about this book because you just need to read it immediately.

Well that it’s so far! What do you think? Should I do more of these? I am really hoping this motivates me to get back into blogging so we’ll see! Until next time, thanks for reading!! ❤

Leave a Reply

