The Bone Witch by Rin Chupeco

bonewitchrev

thebonewitchhhTitle: The Bone Witch

Author: Rin Chupeco

Published: Sourcebooks Fire

Genre: Young Adult Fantasy, Paranormal

Release:  March 7, 2017

Pages: 400

 

synopsis2

Let me be clear: I never intended to raise my brother from his grave, though he may claim otherwise. If there’s anything I’ve learned from him in the years since, it’s that the dead hide truths as well as the living.

When Tea accidentally resurrects her brother from the dead, she learns she is different from the other witches in her family. Her gift for necromancy means that she’s a bone witch, a title that makes her feared and ostracized by her community. But Tea finds solace and guidance with an older, wiser bone witch, who takes Tea and her brother to another land for training.

In her new home, Tea puts all her energy into becoming an asha-one who can wield elemental magic. But dark forces are approaching quickly, and in the face of danger, Tea will have to overcome her obstacles…and make a powerful choice.

Memoirs of a Geisha meets The Name of the Wind in this brilliant new fantasy series by Rin Chupeco!

review

While The Bone Witch could be a fantastic fantasy with great world building and characters, it did not work for me. I found this book to be very bland and too slow to hold my interest. The book is told from two POVs: an older, mysterious Tea recanting her story to a young Bard and a younger Tea from the past when she first discovers she’s a bone witch. While, I would normally really enjoy something like this book had to offer I could not get into it. The writing was too descriptive (if you can believe it) and I found myself mostly skimming over certain parts just to move the story forward. I hate doing this. I really want to lose myself in a story, but once I find myself doing this I know it’s going to be hard for me to keep pushing myself to finish the story.

Why I had to DNF

Nothing happens. I could take nothing happening if the writing was engaging and the characters were brillaint, but when I couldn’t get a feel for either of these I found myself drifting and thinking of other things.
Special Snowflake Syndrome. Right from the start Tea is said to be special and the one to bring change. She’s rare. Of course, she is. *yawn*
-Boring characters with no real personality that I could see. At first I was really interested in Tea and Fox, but the second she raises her brother from the dead and Tea is whisked away to learn to be a bone witch, I just didn’t care anymore? It’s like the plot ended and everything that was interesting along with it.
Info-dumping and poor world-building. What I thought would have been an interesting magic system I fould a little dull? The introduction to heartglass and the different colors to identify different types of witches should have been really cool, but it just didn’t hold enough interest for me, sadly.

It saddens me that I just didn’t like this book because I see so many others have said that it was really good (though still confusing) but I couldn’t bring myself to push through. I hear that the second half is just as slow (if not slower) and I am just not here for that. I am sorry. Maybe I can try to audiobook someday and have better results, but for now….DNF.

If you’re looking for a dark fantasy, then by all means give this a try but it was just not my cup of tea.

7 thoughts on “The Bone Witch by Rin Chupeco

  1. cassidygott says:

    I am so bummed to hear this! 😭 I had really high hopes for this book but I’ve been seeing so many reviews all saying the same thing you did. As soon as I saw your tweet for this review I knew you had dnf’d and didn’t like the book lol 😂

    Liked by 1 person

      • cassidygott says:

        I enjoy how its always one of us sees the negative reviews and the other always sees the positive reviews 😀
        Yeah when I saw your goodreads update at 20% then saw a review link, I just knew lol.
        I cant decide if I want to give this book a shot for myself and see how it goes, maybe but idk lol

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

