January Wrap Up

janwrap

A little late for my wrap up, but better late than never! I know i know. I use that excuse a lot! But in my defense, I didn’t even realize January was over a few days ago haha. Anyway, January brought me so many reads I am proud of myself! I started the year off pretty well!

thebooks

screenshot-17
screenshot-18 screenshot-19
if-i-was-your-girl-meredith-russo

  • When Life Gets in the WayΒ by Ines Vieira | 3 stars
    this book was cute. I enjoyed it. If you want to read my review, please check out my review.
  • Torn by Alice Ward | 1 star
    If I could give this 0 stars I would. This book was so terrible! It’s about a woman who meets a guy while in Thailand and they have a hot connection. Knowing she is in need of a job he makes some calls and get her an assistant job with one of the most successful companies in the city. Honestly I don’t even remember names or places in this book because it was so awful that I wanted to wipe it from my brain. this was a free kindle book and the only reason why i read. I am disappointed. This book sells you on the idea that this girl is torn between these two brothers (twins), but she wasn’t. 80% of the book one twin wasn’t even around and she was hooking up with the other twin. I honestly don’t know why she was so torn and struggling with who she was in love with because one of them wasn’t even there! And when he was? Blah. Awful awful awful.
  • Ps I Like You by Kasie West | 4 stars
    This was a reread via audio book. I really enjoyed reading it again and seeing Kaede again. Such a cute ending!
  • Crystal Storm by Morgan Rhodes | 3 stars
    Though, I liked this book it felt like nothing really moved the story further. Plus, My Magleo (is that the ship name?) heart is hurting! πŸ˜₯
  • Get it Together Delilah by Erin Gough | 2 stars
    SO BORING! I thought I would get a cute f/f romance, but no. I wasn’t sold. My review will be up closer to the release.
  • Simon vs the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli | 5 stars
    Okay, we all know this is my new current favorite book. I loved it so much I read it twice. Honestly, if you haven’t read this book yetΒ read it right now!
  • History is All You Left Me by Adam SIlvera | 5 stars
    SO MANY TEARS!!!! Adam Silvera really knows how to pull at my heartstrings and make me miserable while loving it at the same time. Read this book. Now.Β 
  • City of Ashes by Cassandra Clare | 4 stars
    Another reread via audio book. Fun being back with the shadowhunters. I missed Jace. I missed Simon and Magnus and Alex and Izzy. ❀
  • If I Was Your Girl by Meredith Russo | 3 stars
    Okay book. I don’t really know what else to say.
  • Before I Fall by Lauren Oliver | 2 stars
    BORING. BORING. So repetitive and dull. I think it would be better for a movie than a book. The repeat day got so tiring and I started skimming. Also, the ending with Kent??? Really made me mad. Really made me mad. She could have just left him alone.

Phew, there. I know this isn’t as much as some of you guys probably read but for me it was a lot. I didn’t even realize how much I read until I put it all together! I am so proud of myself. I hope February is just as good! πŸ™‚ Wow I just realized I read mostly nothing but contemporary this month. That’s a first!

botm

simon

Surprise surprise πŸ˜‰

pandadividers
what was your favorite book in january? comment below, i’d love to know! xxoo

 

16 thoughts on “January Wrap Up

  1. Jacquie (Rattle the Stars) says:

    It looks like January was a great month for a lot of people. That’s a lot of books read! It’s just too bad it was such a mixed bunch. I’m glad to see you gave 5 stars to History is All You Left Me. I’m very much looking forward to reading that book. Have a great February!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dee @ the Bookish Khaleesi says:

      You know, I didn’t even realize I read such a mixed bunch until I put everything together lol. I think the fact hat History and Simon vs were so great completely overshadowed the bad seeds. But oh my gosh keep a box of tissues handy while reading History!
      Thank you! Happy February reading to you!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Aldii says:

    Yaas!! Other one that didn’t like Before I Fall! (I don’t think this is somethig to celebrate but I celebrate because I feel the only one) That was the first book I gave 2 stars, I read it when I started reading ‘seriously’ and it was soo boring. However the movie seems interesting!
    My faves of the month were Empire of Storms, Mafia and Simon Vs the Homo Sapiens Agenda my 5 stars reads πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Nerdybirdy @ Daydreaming Books says:

    You read some pretty great books this month! I am so happy you loved Simon vs the Homo Sapiens Agenda! I can’t wait for Becky Albertalli’s next book! Hope you have an awesome February! ❀

    Liked by 1 person

  4. ravenblake99 says:

    It seems like you had great reading month! My favorite book of the month is Gemina! I absolutely loved that book and I can’t wait to read the next book. I liked Simon Vs The Homo Sapiens Agenda but I didn’t enjoyed it as much as you did because I felt the first half pretty boring. Nonetheless, I loved simon and his sense of humor!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dee @ the Bookish Khaleesi says:

      I can definitely see why you felt it was a bit boring in the beginning lol but the ending completely makes up for everything. It’s such an adorable, wonderful ending. I can’t wait for her next book!
      Oh my gosh I loved Gemina! The Illuminae files is such a great series! So different from everything that I’ve read so far. Format wise and everything.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

