Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli

simonreviewsimon

 

Title: Simon vs. The Homo Sapiens Agenda

Author: Becky Albertalli

Genre: Young Adult Contemporary

Publisher: Balzer + Bray

Release: April 7, 2015

Pages: 320

 

synopsis2

Sixteen-year-old and not-so-openly gay Simon Spier prefers to save his drama for the school musical. But when an email falls into the wrong hands, his secret is at risk of being thrust into the spotlight. Now Simon is actually being blackmailed: if he doesn’t play wingman for class clown Martin, his sexual identity will become everyone’s business. Worse, the privacy of Blue, the pen name of the boy he’s been emailing, will be compromised.

With some messy dynamics emerging in his once tight-knit group of friends, and his email correspondence with Blue growing more flirtatious every day, Simon’s junior year has suddenly gotten all kinds of complicated. Now, change-averse Simon has to find a way to step out of his comfort zone before he’s pushed out—without alienating his friends, compromising himself, or fumbling a shot at happiness with the most confusing, adorable guy he’s never met.

review

I am in love with this book ❤ Absolutely in love.

inlove

Seriously, I cannot stop gushing. This book definitely lives up to the hype, which I was nervous about when I decided to read it. I wanted to love it as much as everyone else. And I did. Then some. This book is just…so important. It’s message is clear and a wonderful story of coming out and being who you are. I cannot stop thinking about Simon and Blue and how incredibly brave and wonderful they are! Their emails had me swooning and giggling like a little girl!

No joke, family asked me repeatedly why I was laughing so much.
noshame

First of all, this book is filled so many great relationships! Simon has the best of friends. Nick and Abby and Leah and Blue! and his wonderful family? I love them all so much. His family was supporting and great. When Simon brought up his dad’s gay jokes, he immediately apologized and his mom wanted to gush and know everything about Simon and who he was talking to. Seriously, the best. I am so glad that Albertalli included this in the story. It gave it so much more meaning. Plus, all the Harry Potter references!

Simon begins an online friendship with someone he doesn’t know the identity of online through his school’s Tumblr. They begin a close relationship coming to terms with their sexuality and helping each other with coming out to their families. All while not knowing who the other person is. When the emails turn into flirting is when the fun really starts. it’s so funny how Simon couldn’t see what was right in front of him. I am so glad I turned out to be right about who Blue was because I was so excited!

excited

I am trying so much not to talk about spoilers because all I want to do is fangirl over those last 30 pages! SO. DANG. CUTE.

I do have one complaint though. There was such a lack of description of the characters that I had such a hard time picturing them. I could picture one person perfectly and maybe Abby a little bit due to her skin color. But that was it. That was a little disappointing.

If you haven’t read this book yet, YOU REALLY NEED TO!

rating25Star

 

 

16 thoughts on “Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli

Leave a Reply

