When Life Gets in the Way by Ines Vieira

wlgitwreview

whenlife

Title: When Life Gets in the Way

Author: Ines Vieira

Genre: Young Adult Contemporary Romance

Release: August 2, 2016

Format: Kindle ebook

 

 

synopsis2

A wise man once said that life is what happens when you’re busy making other plans.
Cassandra Mackenzie had only one plan. Get into Berkeley, University of California. That was her one purpose and nothing was going to get in her way or sidetrack her from that one goal. Her life would finally begin once she moved from the quiet streets of Plymouth, Massachusetts to the sunny hills’ of San Francisco.

That is if her family doesn’t fall apart before she can make her dreams come true.
Isaac Silva never made any plans his entire life. His only objective was to have the nightmare he lived day in and day out, to finally come to an end. To Isaac, graduating wouldn’t mean college, it would mean freedom.
But when these two meet, all bets are off.

“When Life Gets in the Way” is a story about overcoming diversity and the gruelling challenges that illness and violence can cause. But it is also a story of experiencing that one feeling that surrounds us all.

Love

review

First, I would like to thank the author for providing me with a copy of this book in exchange for a honest review.

When Life Gets in the Way was an entertaining read. It’s about a girl named Cass who has planned her life out perfectly. All she has to do is get through the last year of high school and she can finally go to her first choice college and take care of her mother who seems to be falling into a dark abyss. The last thing she needs is something (or someone) distracting her from her goals. Enter Isaac Silva. This bad boy is more than what meets the eye and he’s about to come in and change everything.

While I really enjoyed WLGITW, I thought the pacing was a little off. I am all for a slower paced book if the story is compelling and its moving forward. I enjoyed getting to know the characters and falling in love with them, but the end came so quickly that I was really surprised. I felt like what happened with Isaac and his family was things really heating up and then the next chapter was the epilogue?! What??

Cass and Isaac have a electric connection there is no doubt, but at times I felt like there was really nothing standing in there way with being with each other than pure stubbornness. I was just as frustrated as Isaac was and my heart was breaking for him! I wanted to hug him and tell him everything would be okay. When he and Cass begin to han out with each other at the Youth Center, Isaac immediately begins to open up to Cass about himself. I found this a little surprisingly because he seems like a guy that doesn’t open up easily, but he confides in Cass almost right away, but we don’t actually see it. The “getting to know each other” was little skimmed over and summed up by Cass’s POV, which I found a little disappointing. I would have liked to see more relationship building between these two. But, that doesn’t take away from the real connection these two really do have. It’s so obvious to everyone that I just wanted them to get over their silly little “let’s just be friends” and put themselves out of their misery (mainly Cass hehe).

Cass really frustrated me because I didn’t want to her to go to Isaac unless she was 100% she wanted to be with him. Isaac literally told her that he would back off and just be a friend to her when she needed him, but after whatever was going on wit was over he would need more than just friendship. Then she goes to him and starts kissing him? How else is he going to take this? HOPES. BUILT. I was so nervous and sad for him if his heart was about to be broken. You see, I felt for Isaac. He has a broken home, a drunk and abusive father, and the constant fear that “I am my father’s son.” He doesn’t even believe in relationships or love because he sees the brokenness that stems from love. He feels unworthy, until he meets Cass.

I won’t give too much away because I felt so much for these two and their relationship. I just wanted them both to be happy and to finally realize that what happened to their parents doesn’t mean it’s going to happen to them.

The writing was great and really made me feel invested in these characters and their family life. I really got interested in Nick and couldn’t be more ecstatic when I saw there was a sneak peak of his own book! Sign me up!

Overall, I enjoyed reading WLGITW. I was a little blindsided by the abrupt ending, but the epilogue really made up for it. Great characters, heartwarming story, and a beautiful story of first love. When Life Gets in the Way is a cute contemporary and just what I needed to kick off 2017. Thank you Ines Vieira for sharing your story with me ❤

rating23Star

2 thoughts on “When Life Gets in the Way by Ines Vieira

Leave a Reply

