As Old As Time (A Twisted Tale #3) by Liz Braswell

asoldastimer

asoldastime

Title: As Old as Time

Author: Liz Braswell

Publisher: Disney Press

Series: A Twisted Tale #3

Genre: Young Adult Fairytale Retelling

Pages: 496

Release: September 6, 2016

synopsis2What if Belle’s mother cursed the Beast?

Belle is a lot of things: smart, resourceful, restless. She longs to escape her poor provincial town for good. She wants to explore the world, despite her father’s reluctance to leave their little cottage in case Belle’s mother returns–a mother she barely remembers. Belle also happens to be the captive of a terrifying, angry beast. And that is her primary concern.

But Belle touches the Beast’s enchanted rose, intriguing images flood her mind–images of the mother she believed she would never see again. Stranger still, she sees that her mother is none other than the beautiful Enchantress who cursed the Beast, his castle, and all its inhabitants. Shocked and confused, Belle and the Beast must work together to unravel a dark mystery about their families that is twenty-one years in the making.

review

Beauty and the Beast is my all time favorite Disney movie and I had to read this. No excuses. I saw so many mixed reviews (okay, mostly negative), but I didn’t let that cloud my judgment at all. This book fell so flat that I found it so hard to even finish it. This saddens me. I wanted to really love this!!

The kingdom is plagued by a fever and those with magical abilities are disappearing. The story is told in two different storylines at the beginning: Belle’s present and Maurice’s past.

The first 25-30% of the book follows the Disney movie version pretty much identically. I felt like I was just reading the movie’s book. What really bothered me was that most of the dialogue was almost word for word. It wouldn’t have bothered me much if it weren’t for the fact that some of the characters came off as goofy and unlikable. The author tried to make Belle sarcastic and it didn’t work. She was whiny and every time she used sarcasm when talking with the Beast I rolled my eyes. It just made her a little brat! The Beast was still adorable and I felt sorry for him. Gaston was ridiculous, even more so than the movie.

The writing also felt a little too juvenile. It didn’t read like a YA novel to me. It felt like Middle Grade as the most. It felt too simple. The plot twist wasn’t really a twist, it was predictable. The villain wasn’t threatening and the ending felt so rushed. Speaking of the ending, I am married to the perfect HEA with Belle and Prince Adam dancing together surrounded by the court in the castle. So you throw this ending at me and I am not going to be happy at all.

Speaking of the ending, something was confusing and bothering me. So this is a spoiler alert from here. I will turn the text white so you can highlight if you want to read it.

At the end when they find Belle’s mother she tells the Beast that she can change him back into his human form. When he asks her if she will be able to change his whole kingdom and servants back too she says she only has enough magic for them or him so he must choose. He obviously chooses them. When everyone is changed backed, they are exactly how they were when the curse began. Chip is 5. Mrs. Potts “younger than expected” even though she was married to Maurice’s friend and Maurice is old and all gray. So when Belle’s mother says that Belle will eventually marry the Beast because they love each other, are you trying to tell me that Belle is going to marry an 11 year old? Because that’s how old Beast was when he was cursed so…

But I still really liked the twist that Belle’s mother was the one to curse the Beast. I thought it was a nice twist and was really interested in this storyline because it gave a bit more background as to why the castle was cursed and what was going on with the prince and his family.

Some parts worked, but most of it didn’t. I am just glad I am finally done. rating2

2star


Have you read any Twisted Tale books?
What did you think?
Lets discuss xxoo

 

Dee

Leave a Reply

