Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo | Book Review

crookedkreview

I have been trying for the past couple of days to form a coherent thought about this book. I am failing so hard but let’s give it a go.

Title: Crooked Kingdom
Author: Leigh Bardugo
Series: Six of Crows #2
Publisher: Henry Holt
Release: September 27, 2016
Genre: Young Adult Fantasy
Format: Hardcover
Pages: 546

synopsis2

When you can’t beat the odds, change the game.

Kaz Brekker and his crew have just pulled off a heist so daring even they didn’t think they’d survive. But instead of divvying up a fat reward, they’re right back to fighting for their lives. Double-crossed and badly weakened, the crew is low on resources, allies, and hope. As powerful forces from around the world descend on Ketterdam to root out the secrets of the dangerous drug known as jurda parem, old rivals and new enemies emerge to challenge Kaz’s cunning and test the team’s fragile loyalties. A war will be waged on the city’s dark and twisting streets―a battle for revenge and redemption that will decide the fate of the Grisha world.

review

This book was such an emotional journey. The highly anticipated sequel to Six of Crows definitely delivers and lives up to all the hype. In fact, if I had to think of the perfect ending for our beloved Crows this book exceeded that. I was laughing, crying, hugging my pillow, covering my eyes, and had my heart racing the whole time. Action-packed plot will leave you breathless.

img_2470

This book finally brings readers exactly what we have been waiting for since SoC: Wylan’s POV. Thank you, Leigh, for this precious cinnamon roll gift from the Gods! This preciousness is everything. His POV was fantastic and heartbreaking and swoonworthy! Every single scene he shares with Jesper truly delivers some of the best parts of this book. Their relationship is so pure and wonderful. I couldn’t wait for more scenes between those two. I don’t know how Leigh switches POVs between six characters so smoothly, but she has it down to a science. The story changes scenes and you hear from exactly the right character at the right time.

All these characters are so unique and lovable that it’s so hard to choose a favorite! I dare you to try to choose one. I can’t. I love each and every one equally because they are all that great. I don’t know the last time I have been in love with this many MCs.
mybabies

AND ALL THE SHIPS!! ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤

Plus, if you’ve read The Grisha Trilogy, you’ll see some familiar faces. I know I was fangirling! <30

Like SoC, this book surrounded a type of heist. We see the Dregs picking up the pieces of where SoC ended, We need Inej, we need to end Van Eck, and we need to do it fast. The way everything played out was so brilliant that I couldn’t even believe how smart and clever some of the schemes were! I was applauding Kaz and crew, and Leigh for that matter!

There’s not much I can say without spoiling this book, so I will just say: read this book immediately. Perfect ending to a perfect duology. I am going to miss the Grishaverse so much. I am already missing the Dregs! If you haven’t picked this book up yet, I really don’t know what you’ve been doing.

Sidenote: If you haven’t read Six of Crows yet, stop what you’re reading and read that immediately. You’ll thank me later.

rating2

5Star

Have you read Crooked Kingdom?
Who is your biggest ship?
Let’s discuss xxoo

until next time,
Dee

2 thoughts on “Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo | Book Review

Leave a Reply

