The Lovely Reckless by Kami Garcia

 

thelovelyrecklessrv

Title: The Lovely Reckless
Author: Kami Garcia
Publisher: Imprint
Publication: October 4, 2016
Genre: Young Adult Contemporary Romance
Format: eARC
Pages: 384

synopsis2

I’ve become an expert at avoiding things that could hurt me—which means I will figure out how to stay away from Marco Leone.

Seventeen-year-old Frankie Devereux would do anything to forget the past. Haunted by the memory of her boyfriend’s death, she lives her life by one dangerous rule: Nothing matters. At least, that’s what Frankie tells herself after a reckless mistake forces her to leave her privileged life in the Heights to move in with her dad—an undercover cop. She transfers to a public high school in the Downs, where fistfights don’t faze anyone and illegal street racing is more popular than football.

Marco Leone is the fastest street racer in the Downs. Tough, sexy, and hypnotic, he makes it impossible for Frankie to ignore him—and how he makes her feel. But the risks Marco takes for his family could have devastating consequences for them both. When Frankie discovers his secret, she has to make a choice. Will she let the pain of the past determine her future? Or will she risk what little she has left to follow her heart?

review

Thank you to Impulse and Netgalley for providing me with an eARC in exchange of a honest review.

This book is such a pleasant surprise. It is very reminiscent of Katie McGarry’s Pushing the Limits series, especially Crash Into You (which is my favorite book) and I love it! The story of two teens who come from different worlds finding a special connection with each other is one of my favorite stories and this was perfectly done.

The story surrounds Frankie Devereux after she witnessed her boyfriend Noah’s death right before her eyes. Suffering from PTSD, Frankie becomes a little reckless and has to move into a less “privileged” part of town with her father and enter a public school where she meets the sexy, passionate, and bad boy Marco Leone. The second Frankie meets Marco, an intense attraction begins and it’s all you need to realize that you need Marco as your next book boyfriend. I know I did. ❤

Frankie is one of my favorite characters. She suffers from PTSD and flashbacks from the night when Noah died. She is desperately trying to remember who killed Noah and she lets this haunt her for majority of the book. I just felt so much sympathy for her. She is lost. She doesn’t feel like she belongs anywhere anymore. She has to move into her Dad’s place where she hasn’t had that great of a  relationship with in quite some time as a result of his job. Her mother is distant and pays more attention to her new husband and making Frankie who she wants Frankie to be rather than get to know her daughter. On top of all this, Frankie is trying to forget everything that is connected to Noah because it hurts her too much. That means trying to distant herself for her oldest friends. While I didn’t agree with Frankie’s decisions, I understood them. I loved Frankie’s development in this novel because it showed just how strong she is. She had to fight a hard battle trying to piece together what happened as well as save herself and learn who she now is. She took some risks and it was always for those she loved. She just wanted to do the right thing for the right reason.

Oh Marco, Marco, Marco. I was gushing so much over this beautiful soul. My heart broke a million times because of his story and the cards life dealt him, but you have to love his heart. His connection with Frankie is beautiful and the way he cares for his sister  will make you love him. I dare you not to fall in love with him. He is so protective of those he cares about and will do everything to protect them and it hurts because he won’t fight for himself. He feels just as lost as Frankie does, if not more. He thinks so poorly of himself that it’s heartbreaking!

“Marco will fight for his sister, for his friends, and I’m willing to bet hed fight to the ends of the earth for you. But he won’t fight for himself. He only sees one door, Frankie. He needs someone to show him the others ones.”

What I really liked about this book besides the intense relationship between Frankie and Marco was the friendships Frankie formed. This book wasn’t only about a love story. As a matter of fact, it wasn’t even really instalove (not really), but Frankie first developed a friendships with a girl from her class, Cruz and her new reconnected friendships with her older friends, Lex and Abel which was more important. She needed to know that she had people supporting her who can help her see the “other doors.”

Overall, this book is fantastic and quickly became one of my favorite contemporaries. It’s sexy, fast-paced, thrilling, and never a dull moment. I never cry while reading contemporaries, but this book made me bawl my eyes out. I felt so connected to these characters and so invested in their journeys. Thank you, Kami Garcia for writing such a beautiful, heartfelt story. It will stay in my heart forever.  

rating25Star


This lovely book comes out tuesday! Make sure you grab your copy so we can fangirl together! 

Until next time,
Dee

6 thoughts on “The Lovely Reckless by Kami Garcia

  1. LairOfBooks says:

    Great review! I’ve only read Kami Garcia’s Beautiful Creatures series & not in it’s entirety. I was a bit skeptical about this one but LOVED the cover the instant I saw it. Adding it to m TBR, everyone needs that boy next door 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Cate says:

    This is the second review of this book I’ve seen and oh my god, I need to read this! Great review, I really enjoyed reading it and you’ve got me so psyched to read this book!

    Like

Leave a Reply

