Game On by Michelle Smith

GameOn

*Thank you to Publisher/Netgalley for providing me with an eARC in exchange for an honest review. This in no way influenced my opinion.*

Title: Game On
Author: Michelle Smith
Publisher: Bloomsbury Spark
Release: August 16, 2016
Series: Lewis Creek #2
Genre: Young Adult  Contemporary Romance
Format: eARC
Pages: 328

synopsis2

As king of baseball in the small town of Lewis Creek, Eric Perry can have any girl he wants and win every game he plays. But when a fight lands him in jail, he’s only got one more strike before his baseball career is over for good. His only chance for redemption? The girl next door, Bri Johnson.

Bri hasn’t talked to Eric in months—for starters, she’s been too busy dealing with her jerk of an ex-boyfriend, not to mention the fact that Eric’s been preoccupied trying to drink every keg in the country dry. But when he needs a way to stay on the team, she proposes a plan: if he helps her out with community service, he can stay on the team. At first it’s a nightmare—Eric and Bri stopped being friends years ago, surely that was for a good reason, right? But as volunteering turns to bonding over old memories of first kisses under the stars, they start to have trouble remembering what pushed them apart.

In a town as small as Lewis Creek, nothing stays secret for long and their friendship and romance might mean bad news. But in this final, tumultuous spring before graduation, Eric and Bri are about to realize that nobody’s perfect alone, but they might just be perfect together.

review

First of all, I love sporty love stories. When I saw this was available for request on Netgalley I knew I just had to read it. After reading this book, I can wholeheartedly say that this is one of my favorite contemporary novels, ever. I loved the story, the connections between the characters, the romance, the male main character was everything I’ve ever wanted in a mc. I am over the moon happy with this book!

Michelle Smith has a gripping writing style. They way she strings her words together makes you feel like you are experiencings all these emotions right alongside her characters. She makes them relatable. I felt like Bri and Eric at least 95% of the time because of their thought processes (especially Eric). Though the plot was a little underwhelming, it was still very enjoyable. The story is simple and sweet. It follows Bri Johnson, the girl next door, who was once best friends with Eric Perry, the new starting pitcher. These two are thrown together under an unexpected circumstances and quickly realize they are given a second chance at friendship, and maybe more. Second chance love story alert! I love second chance romances. I love friends who come together and realize they love each other and are perfect for one of another. Add baseball into the mix and you have one heck of a story.

Eric Perry is the guy of my dreams. He is loyal, charming, kind, a little shy and nervous, a big softie at heart, and  a true family guy. He has insecuries. He doesn’t think he is good enough and is constantly battling himself to prove to himself and the town that he has what it takes to lead his team to victory. When he begins spending more time with Bri, he is a goner. This guy is so deep in love with this girl that it’s almost adorable how he doesn’t realize it. I love the way he looks at her and the way he gets nervous around her. Eric Perry will have you putty in his hands by the end of this book. Guaranteed.

Plus, he is doing everything right

“With any other girl, I would have made that move already, but she’s different. And that sounds stupid and cliche and I refuse to drop the “she’s not like other girls” bullshit, because she’s just like plenty of other girls around here: she’s smart and gorgeous and hilarious and a blast to be around. But she is different. She’s the only one who makes me want to be different. She makes me want to be better. For her.”

Aside from Eric, Bri Johnson is a strong female lead. She finds herself in an verbally abusive relationship with a guy who stole away her light. He is draining her and when she finds her strength to walk away, the entire town blames her. Any girl would crumble and breakdown. I know I would, but not Bri. She continues to work on herself to get her strength back. She worked hard to get where she is and she doesn’t let the town or her ex drag her down. I loved how strong she was even when she was breaking and alone. The only thing I wish we saw was more of her playing soccer.

My only complaint is (and totally my fault) that I really wish I would have read the first book. When old characters were brought back, I didn’t know who they were. An old baseball game kept getting referenced and I didn’t know what happened. Now I am on a mission to read that book too. These characters are so lovely and I can’t wait to read more!

rating24StarGoodreads | Amazon Kindle | Nook 

until next time

Dee

 

5 thoughts on “Game On by Michelle Smith

  1. tanazmasaba says:

    To be honest I kinda wanna read this book more because of the character Bri than for the plot (though I do love me some good romance). It’s always inspiring to read about characters who have to fight tooth and nail for the respect that everyone else gets freely. And that quote from Eric made me like him already–“I refuse to drop the “she’s not like other girls” bullshit, because she’s just like plenty of other girls around here: she’s smart and gorgeous and hilarious and a blast to be around. But she is different. She’s the only one who makes me want to be different.” That is just the sweetest way a guy can describe his girl.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dee @ the Bookish Khaleesi says:

      Yeah, Bri was definitely great. She worked hard to get where she was and she learned her worth and didn’t want ot take any crap from anyone. I really did like her. Eric just made me swoon. He has so many more awesome quotes because the way he thinks of Bri is just the sweetest and I love him so much for it ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  2. cw @ readthinkponder says:

    Now that I think of it, I haven’t actually read any sporty romances! I’m not a big sports person at all, maybe that’s why. BUT, maybe I should broaden my reading scope and try this book out. I love a good fluffy romance every now and then. The only thing I might feel a little weird about is how Bri’s verbal abuse(?) is portrayed – but I shall reserve judgement and read the book for myself and decide then.
    Great review, Dee!! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dee @ the Bookish Khaleesi says:

      I love sports romances!! I’m not an athletic person at all either but i am a fan of baseball 😍
      The verbal abuse wasn’t a problem in my opinion. It was more mental but that’s just the best way to describe it without giving too much detail haha.
      But thank, CW! It was a really cute story!

      Like

Leave a Reply

