July’s Hot Hot Hot Wrap Up

julywrapup

Hello hello! I know this is coming a little late this month (okay a lot late), but I haven’t had the energy to turn on my computer when it’s been so hot. You guys, I hate the summer. I am miserable! My wrap up isn’t even that long because I find it hard to read. I was also hoping to do a post on my birthday book haul since it was my birthday month (the 16th was my birthday) but I just haven’t gotten around to it. But it’s coming! I hope. 

Okay, enough excuses. I have made some progress and have read some amazing books last month ❤

july

Drums of Autumn by Diana Gabaldon | 4 stars

So I had a few issues and frustrations about this book. The whole plot could have been resolved if characters would have just had one conversation, but no. Everything dragged on and I am a little disappointed. However, I still enjoyed myself.

My review here

I’ll Give you the sun by Jandy Nelson | 4 stars

This book was so unexpected. I didn’t really think I was going to like just because it’s so hyped. But honestly, I fell in love. I really enjoyed that it took place over two timelines, the past and the present. The story was heartbreaking and touching at the same time. I’m so relieved I fell in love with the story the same way everyone else did.

Hamilton: the revolution by Lin Manuel Miranda | 5 stars

I love love love this book. If you’re a Hamilton fan, you need this book!

The Star-touched Queen by Renee Chokshi | 3.5 stars

I really enjoyed this book, but the more I think about it the more bummed I am that it is only a standalone. I thought the story only skimmed the surface and I was expecting more once it ended. But then I read that that’s it?! Saaaaaaaad.

A GAthering of Shadows by VE Schwab *rr | 4 stars

I reread this book on audio and it was fantastic. I totally recommend it!

Bared to you by Sylvia Day | 3 stars

So this is totally a guilty pleasure read. I wanted something quick and don’t judge me okay? But I really enjoyed it. I refused to read the Fifty Shades books, but since I heard these were way better and well-written I gave them a try. Shh. it’s okay.

Reflected in you by Sylvia Day | 3 stars

Shh…

This was good too. Finally take a look into Gideon’s past and his demons. I really don’t have much to say about these books other than it is a fun read.

Did I mention I Love You? by Estelle Maskame | 4 stars

God I love this trilogy so much. I have already finished the other books and I can’t stop thinking about them because they were so addicting and fun. I love Tyler and Eden and everyone! Their forbidden romance was just so addicting I couldn’t set the book down!

I recommend them if you haven’t read them yet and you’re looking for a summer read.

Hollow City by Ransom Riggs | DNF @ page 30

I just can’t with these books. I am sorry and I am bummed but I can’t. They are just not for me.


Well that is it! Wow I read way more than I thought I did! July was fun and August is already looking pretty good. Hopefully I can read some more amazing books! 

until next time,
Dee

 

10 thoughts on “July’s Hot Hot Hot Wrap Up

  1. LairOfBooks says:

    Better late than never 😉 & I did not know that the Star-touched Queen was a stand-alone! supper bummed and I haven’t even read it yet, just heard some great things about it so I decided to pick it up….I was saving it as I always do with my series which I thought this was. Guess I’ll be reading it sooner than I thought lol

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dee @ the Bookish Khaleesi says:

      Well there *is* a companion novel coming out, but it’s about a minor character from TSTQ so I’m not really counting it as a sequel haha. I really was hoping for a continuation just because I didn’t get enough answers lol. But technically it’s a “standalone” ):

      Liked by 1 person

  2. LairOfBooks says:

    Lol yes, I just came from the author’s Goodread’s page looking for more answers lol smh. I guess I’ll take what I can get, such a beautiful cover & that synopsis really pulled me in. Bumping it up on my TBR now that I know, no more books will follow.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dee @ the Bookish Khaleesi says:

      That’s the only reason I decided to give Crossfire a try because so many said it was well-written and so much better. I didn’t like Gideon at first either but book 2 I came around. Still has issues and doesn’t treat her well but Eva is so strong and holds her own. I love love love Cary!
      I need the other books so I can continue🙊

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

