June’s Very Hot & Sizzling Wrap Up

phonto

Hello all! This year is going by way too fast! It’s already July! Which means IT’S MY BIRTHDAY MONTH! I can’t believe it! June just started and now it’s already over! Thank God though because I am counting down the days until September so summer is over! Ah well the end of June brings my small wrap up! I didn’t read as much as I would have liked this month because I fell into a bit of a reading slump. I blame the heat. I just have no motivation to read when I get overheated and then I feel sick.

However, I did get some reading done! So without further ado…

TheBooks

A Gathering of Shadows by VE Schwab | 4 stars

agos I am so in love with this trilogy and I hate myself for not picking it up sooner. I love the magic system and the different Londons that Victoria has created.Not to mention the wonderful, perfect characters that have all become my favorite! I can’t get enough of this world and story that I am fully convinced that the wait for ACOL will likely kill me.

😥

 

 

 

Saga Vol 2. by Brian K Vaughan | 4 stars

Saga Vol. 2

Really need to read more of this comic series. It’s great.

 

 

 

 

Kindred Spirits by Rainbow Rowell | 3 stars

kindredspiritI won this little book in a giveaway and was so excited because it sounded so adorable. Two teens waiting in line for the new Star Wars movie? Yes please. It was so adorable (as expected) and I hate that it isn’t a whole novel! I WANT MORE! (as expected).

 

 

 

 

A Storm of Swords by George RR Martin | 5 stars

asosMy god. The Red Wedding. *cries forever* 😥

Seriously, these audiobooks are fantastic. I love Roy Dotrice’s narrating so much that I don’t know if I can go read the book on my own without wanting to hear his voice. It’s just so much more entertaining!

 

 

 

Gifted by JA George | 4 stars

giftedI received this lovely book from the author and it was such a great book! It’s a YA Contemporary Paranormal book with a very relatable character. It’s much more realistic than some stories and I found it so lovely. I loved getting to know each of the characters talents and they reminded me of Shatter Me.

I definitely recommend you read this book. It’s light and quick and has great characters.

You can find my full review here.

 

 

Finding Audrey by Sophie Kinsella | 4 stars

audreyI read this book twice this month. I enjoyed it that much.

I listened to this book on audiobook as well and I totally recommend the audiobook. It’s such a great listen and made the book 10x funnier! I was so entertained and this was the exact book I needed for my mood at the time. I loved the portrayal of SAD and the lightness of the book. Audrey’s fight with social anxiety disorder is inspiring and I loved how she pushes herself.

You can find my review here.

 

Morning Star by Pierce Brown | 5 stars

morningstarMY GOD THIS BOOK WAS PERFECT! I think it was my favorite of the month. It’s such a great finale to a great trilogy. Thank God Pierce is writing a sequel trilogy because I just can’t get enough!

Seriously. If you haven’t picked up Red Rising please do yourself a favor and read it right now!

You can find my full review here.

 

 

I’ve Got your Number by Sophie Kinsella | 4 stars

gotyournumberSo since Finding Audrey was my first Sophie Kinsella book and I loved it, I decided it was time to pick up more because her writing was just great. It’s funny and lighthearted, but so cute and wonderful. The exact type of romcom book I needed after I finished A Storm of Swords and it’s heaviness.

This book was so much fun! I couldn’t stop laughing the whole way through.

Wedding night by Sophie Kinsella | 1 star- DNF @30% 

weddingnight Well we can’t win them all. I didn’t like this one at all. I couldn’t connect to the characters. The MCs seemed a little ridiculous and I found myself wanting to listen to literally anything else than the book (another audiobook).

Oh well. Maybe I’ll try a different book and it will be better.

 

 

 

 

Hello, Goodbye, & Everything in between by Jennifer E SMith | 3 stars

hellogoodbyeSo much yes! This book takes place over one night before two teens go onto separate paths to college where they need to decide if they will stay together or break up. I am a fan of Jennifer E Smith so I am used to her fluffy, cute stories but this was more emotional that I am used to. Not to say it was sad, but I just felt for these characters and their big decision. I really enjoyed the outcome and found myself not wanting their night to end either.

Totally recommend. Find my review here

 

 

Well there you have it! My June wrap up! How was your reading month? What was your favorite book? Let me know! xxoo

 

Dee

16 thoughts on “June’s Very Hot & Sizzling Wrap Up

Leave a Reply

