Hello, Goodbye, And Everything in Between by Jennifer E Smith

jesmithreview

I just picked this book up because Jennifer E Smith always writes such cute, fluffy books and I knew this would be no different. I needed a break from Drums of Autumn and ended up reading this book in one sitting! It’s cute, fun, quick, and far more emotional than I expected!

synopsis
On the night before they leave for college, Clare and Aidan have only one thing left to do: figure out whether they should stay together or break up. Over the course of twelve hours, they retrace the steps of their relationship, trying to find something in their past that might help them decide what their future should be. The night leads them to family and friends, familiar landmarks and unexpected places, hard truths and surprising revelations. But as the clock winds down and morning approaches, so does their inevitable goodbye. The question is, will it be goodbye for now or goodbye forever?

Charming, bittersweet, and full of wisdom and heart, this irresistible novel from Jennifer E. Smith, author of The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight, explores the difficult choices that arise when life and love lead in different directions.
myreview
This book was so cute! Like I said, I didn’t expect it to be as emotional and it was. I found myself feeling for the characters and the inevitable goodbye that they were facing (whether they stayed together or not). Graduating high school, leaving for college and saying goodbye to best friends was so bittersweet in this novel and you really feel for these teens.

The novel takes place over one single night and the more you read the more you won’t want the night to end. We see a kind of glimpse into Clare and Aidan’s relationship and how perfectly in love they are.  They are facing going down separate paths and don’t know if they should let go or try to make it work as long distance.

I admit, I didn’t like Clare a good portion of this book. I felt she was being a little too pessimistic and logical to a point of being mean to Aidan. Aidan clearly didn’t want to end things and lose Clare because he loved her too much, but Clare kept squashing his hope that they could make it work all because her parents, I understood Clare and even agreed with her but I just couldn’t help but feel so sad for Aidan. I am a hopeless romantic so I saw myself in him. Also, Clare was a little too wrapped up in herself and what was going to happen with her and Aidan that she clearly wasn’t there for her best friend and didn’t even see what was happening right before her eyes. It was clearly obvious right from the start and I wanted to shake her to pay more attention to someone other than herself. I am glad Clare came around though.

Like all Jennifer E Smith books, Hello, Goodbye and Everything in Between is fluffy, easy, quick, and will no doubt make you smile. I loved the friendships, the tone, the relationship between Clare and Aidan, and everything in between (heh heh). I couldn’t put it down and I got so emotional reading the end that I couldn’t help, but need a hug because I was just so sad. With that said, I loved the ending! I thought it was perfect! Everything wrapped up so nicely and was much more realistic.

If you’re a fan of Jennifer E Smith, you want to pick this book up! ❤

rating3Star

Have you read any other Jennifer E Smith books? Which is your favorite? Let’s discuss xxoo

 

 

Dee

3 thoughts on “Hello, Goodbye, And Everything in Between by Jennifer E Smith

Leave a Reply

