Finding Audrey by Sophie Kinsella

findingaudrey

I recently have been so into listening to audibooks and when I saw this was available on Overdrive, I was so excited to give it a read. It was so much fun and I really enjoyed myself. This was my first Sophie Kinsella book and now I am so interested to read more!

synopsis

From the #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Shopaholic series comes a terrific blend of comedy, romance, and psychological recovery in a contemporary YA novel sure to inspire and entertain.

An anxiety disorder disrupts fourteen-year-old Audrey’s daily life. She has been making slow but steady progress with Dr. Sarah, but when Audrey meets Linus, her brother’s gaming teammate, she is energized. She connects with him. Audrey can talk through her fears with Linus in a way she’s never been able to do with anyone before. As their friendship deepens and her recovery gains momentum, a sweet romantic connection develops, one that helps not just Audrey but also her entire family.

myreviewThis book is a comedy. Yes, it’s about a girl dealing with Social Anxiety Disorder, but it is a comedy. It’s not going to be all seriousness and sadness. So if you realize this, I think you will really enjoy it. The author is in no way mocking SAD in any way, in my opinion. In fact, I thought she did an excellent job with portraying a MC dealing with anxiety.

Audrey’s thoughts were spot on and you could really feel her internal struggle. I found her journey and battle to be really inspiring. She pushed herself into new situations even though she was so uncomfortable, but she really is a strong girl. I loved her relationship with her therapist because Dr. Sarah really pushed her to try new challenges. As well as Linus (the love interest). Linus was such a sweetheart and I really liked his character. He is Audrey’s older brother Frank’s teammate (video game team) and really helped Audrey with her battle. He urged her to write to him, have contact, go out to Starbucks and eventually try to talk to people she didn’t know. He used baby steps with her and was so patient. I found him to be even more supportive than her parents. Audrey really has a great support system. Her brother stuck up for her to one of the bully’s family and her parents really just are so patient with her.

One thing that I found good and bad was Audrey’s mother Anne. Anne is a great mother but she was so obsessed with Frank playing video games that sometimes I felt like it eclipsed the plot of the book. Anne goes above and beyond trying to get Frank to not play on his computer and though it was really funny at times, sometimes it was a little too much.

However what really bothered me was that we never really know what happened to Audrey. Audrey keeps saying that something happened at her old high school with some girls and she ended up in the hospital now dealing with her anxiety, but we never know exactly what happened. Obviously she was bullied from a group of girls but what was said? What did they do? Who even knows? I found this so infuriating because every so often Audrey would mention “what happened before” but yet she didn’t “want to talk about it” so the reader doesn’t know. I am a greedy reader and want to know everything! Simply staying at she was bullied does not satisfy me! Sorry.

There really wasn’t much plot wise considering this was basically about Audrey’s struggle with SAD and trying to break out of her own head, but it was still really entertaining. It was quick, fast and easy to get through. Funny writing, great audio that really adds to the humor and tone of the family, quite entertaining.
rating4Star

Have you read this book? What did you think? What other Sophie Kinsella Books have you read and recommend? Let’s chat.

 

happy reading & until next time,
Dee

17 thoughts on “Finding Audrey by Sophie Kinsella

  1. amortalreader1 says:

    Glad you enjoyed the book, I liked Finding Audrey as well. It was definitely funny, I could relate with Audrey and her anxiety, how she struggled to go out of the house etc.

    I love how Sophie Kinsella is bringing forth important topics in a comical setting, its showing that Mental Illness can be talked about in a light manner and it’s bringing forth a possible discussion on Anxiety to a younger audience as well! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ashleigh says:

    I’m in an ongoing debate with myself about whether to read this or not. I’ve read a few of Sophie Kinsella’s adult books and loved them, but I don’t know if this one will be my sort of thing. I might try it though. Great review!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

