Royal Bond (Royal #1) by Megan Maldonado

RoyalBondReview

They are forever…

Sydney Field’s life is a rollercoaster on steroids with one constant—Ryan Edwardson.

Best friends since a projectile crayon incident in kindergarten, Sydney and Ryan have stuck it out together through thick and thin, pranks and rants, and anything in between.

One kiss changes everything…

As Sydney does her best to sort through her new found feelings for Ryan and mend what she broke in their friendship, the rollercoaster makes a complete one-eighty, unveiling Ryan’s lifelong secrets.

Thrust into a world chalk full of royalty and kingdoms and wielders, Sydney starts to wonder what’s up or down, right or wrong, reality or fantasy.

In a twist of events, Sydney finds herself enveloped in a world she never knew she belonged to. Friends become enemies, strangers become her survival, and love becomes the ultimate price.

ADD TO GOODREADS

*I was provided with a copy from the author in exchange of a honest review.*

This book was quite entertaining and while it read more like a contemporary than paranormal, it still had some interesting paranormal aspects. It was light and fun and had a prince that made me fall so hard in love.

First of all, the characters were awesome. Ryan, our love interest, really held this book together for me. He was so swoon-worthy, smooth, sexy, and funny that he had me hooked from page one. I loved his relationship with Sydney. They had such a great connection and really understood each other. Even if they were fighting, Ryan would show up whenever he was needed and didn’t even care if she was still pissed at him. He cared about her so much and his loyalty just makes you melt in a puddle. This guy is wonderful. Yes, he has his issues. He is possessive and overprotective at times, but you know what? It’s valid. He respects Sydney and just wants what’s best for her.

On the other hand, Sydney could really drive you crazy if you let her. She has all the right ingredients to make you love her and relate to her, however she made me roll my eyes quite often. She is snarky/sarcastic, independent, funny, and really cares about her friends. But she also is so stubborn that you want to shake her. Any time she and Ryan are in a fight she spends chapters upon chapters just sulking and avoiding him! I kept screaming at her to just speak to Ryan to let him explain or tell him what’s going on instead of shutting him in the dark. That isn’t what friends do. They don’t leave each other hanging without a warning or explanation, especially not best friends. I get it, she started having feelings for him and was afraid of what he would say or if it would ruin their friendship,but she didn’t even give him a chance! On top of this, her sarcasm can be a little too much at times. Don’t get me wrong I loved her sarcastic comments and the way she threw her sense of humor at everyone but sometime it was uncalled for. This just made her come off as a little mean, in my opinion. Other than that, I liked her.

Now about this paranormal world. I feel a little underwhelmed with the world building. I would have liked to see so much more. We don’t really see too much of it because Syd has no knowledge of this world that her friends belong to and as a result neither does the reader. But at least 60% of the book goes by and we still don’t know anything because Syd is so stubborn and won’t talk to Ryan so the reader is left in the dark asking questions. This is why it feels more like a contemporary than paranormal. But even when we learn a little more, its still underwhelming. The end rushed by so fast and was over before it even got started. I feel like only the surface was scratched and I want to know so much more.

Speaking of the end, the epilogue. Oh man the epilogue is just cruel. Now I am a girl who loves her happy endings. I can deal with a little heartache if it was done correctly, but this was just mean. The last few chapters come out of left field! It was just thrown and ends at the biggest cliffhanger! If I don’t give more Ryan and Syd and answers I don’t know what I will do! Because that was just mean 😦

This book had a few editing problems, but overall it was entertaining. The characters are great. The friendships and minor characters are fun. The writing is easy to get into and I had fun reading it. I would have liked a faster paced plot, but in the end I still enjoyed the read.

Now GIVE MORE RYAN! 😀

fpJEU

Until next time,
dee (2)

One thought on “Royal Bond (Royal #1) by Megan Maldonado

Leave a Reply

