The Crown (The Selection #5) by Kiera Cass

TheCrownReview

When Eadlyn became the first princess of Illéa to hold her own Selection, she didn’t think she would fall in love with any of her thirty-five suitors. She spent the first few weeks of the competition counting down the days until she could send them all home. But as events at the palace force Eadlyn even further into the spotlight, she realizes that she might not be content remaining alone.

Eadlyn still isn’t sure she’ll find the fairytale ending her parents did twenty years ago. But sometimes the heart has a way of surprising you…and soon Eadlyn must make a choice that feels more impossible—and more important—than she ever imagined.

This book was so bittersweet. I am so sad to say goodbye to my beloved Maxon and America. I’ve loved these characters so much and will miss them so much. With that being said, this book was so sad for be to read because of the end of one of my favorite guilty pleasure series!

First things first, this book was entirely too short. I mean it was less than 300 pages? Really? How am I going to let go in less than 300 pages?! 😦 Plus the ending felt (and really the whole plot of this book) felt a little rushed. Everything happened and wrapped up so fast the last quarter of the book.

Also, there really wasn’t as much romance as I was expecting. I am really happy that my ship sailed,but I wish I was able to see it unfold more clearly. It was still sweet and cute, but I am selfish and I wanted more! If you read my review for The Heir you’ll know that I had two ships in this spinoff series so I really wasn’t going to be disappointed with whoever Eadlyn chose but I am so happy with her choice. Erik, or should I say Eikko, completely store my heart. As did my lovable Kile who can build me the world. Sweet Henri and Hale were all so sweet to Eadlyn. I really enjoyed their little group that they formed. It was sweet to see Eadlyn have these guys who truly cared for her and supported her. As well as her new girlfriends.

Speaking of Eadlyn, I am so happy with her growth in this series. I was a little skeptical reading this book because I hated Eadlyn in the last book because she was such a spoiled brat, but she really grew up. She became stronger and more confident, more warm, and tender. She took charge when needed and didn’t let anyone steamroll her. I was really proud of her for stepping into her new role as Queen regent and the tasks that came with being Queen.

As much as I liked some aspects of this book I have to say my favorite part was the bits with Maxon and America. No matter what small part they play or how little we see of them they are still steal the show for me. They are ever the adorable couple that I love. Their moments together were sweet with Maxon fussing over America and America taking cute jabs at Maxon. ❤

Overall, this book was enjoyable. I liked it more than The Heir but it was definitely not my favorite in the series. It was too short and lacked a solid plot. Plus the epilogue (can it even be considered an epilogue) really gave us no glimpse into how our characters were doing.It was more like just parting words. However, I still enjoyed it. I am happy with Eadlyn’s choices and the end to the Selection was cute ❤

Until next time,
dee (2)

12 thoughts on “The Crown (The Selection #5) by Kiera Cass

  1. Emma The Book Lover says:

    I feel the same way! I was so sad to let go of this series because I love having a new book in this world every year and even though they aren’t the best books they are so fun to read. But I felt like the plot was rushed, like less than 300 pages WHAT???

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dee @ the Bookish Khaleesi says:

      Exactly! Once I got the book I thought “what is this?! No way this can be wrapped up in 278 pages!” The whole thing was super rushed. Especially when she still introduced new characters!
      But I miss them already. I loved Maxon and America and reading about them always filled my heart. Even if they aren’t the best, I had the best time reading them 😭

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Leah @ Fiction and Tea says:

    I was so scared when I saw how short the book was! Still looking forward to reading it though, especially now that I know that Eadlyn gets some character development, god bless! 😄 Great review Dee! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

