The Raven King (The Raven Cycle #4) by Maggie Stiefvater

theravenkingreview

Nothing living is safe. Nothing dead is to be trusted.

For years, Gansey has been on a quest to find a lost king. One by one, he’s drawn others into this quest: Ronan, who steals from dreams; Adam, whose life is no longer his own; Noah, whose life is no longer a lie; and Blue, who loves Gansey…and is certain she is destined to kill him.

Now the endgame has begun. Dreams and nightmares are converging. Love and loss are inseparable. And the quest refuses to be pinned to a path.

“Adam smiled cheerily. Ronan would start wars and burn cities for that true smile, elastic and amiable.”

Okay, this is kind of tough for me to review because I honestly don’t know what to say, nor do I know what to feel.

First of all, this felt entirely too rushed. Everything happened so fast at the end and it was a little too anticlimatic. The first 70% of the book for me was so slow and all over the place and I had no idea what we were even doing. Then the search for Glendower wasn’t even discussed until almost the very end and I was sitting there wondering “umm are you going to look for this king we’ve been talking about since book 1?” Then that search and ending was so dull and again, anticlimatic. It was all so underwhelming.

On the other hand, I did enjoy this book because of the amount of PYNCH (Ronan and Adam). I love these two so much and they really made this book entertaining for. Ronan is my favorite in this series because of his rough attitude and lost soul. There is just something about him that calls to me.  Plus, there was Gansey and Blue. I kind of wanted more for them. I feel like they were pushed on the back-burner a bit and that made me a little disappointed. Next to Ronan, Gansey was my favorite because he is like the cutest boyfriend for me and I am left unsatisfied. *SPOILER*I knew his death was coming, but wow. It almost felt like nothing even happened at all. Does that make me heartless? *END SPOILER*

Plus, all the new additions! What was the point in new characters that played little to no role in THE LAST BOOK! Even though I liked Henry Cheng, what was the point of having him? Even Piper Greenmantle was such a disappointing villain. I really feel like the ball was dropped for this book because everything just felt so underwhelming. I didn’t care what Piper was doing or why. I feel like her storyline should have just been wrapped up in the previous book or something, but that is just my opinion.

Overall, this book was just okay. It was entertaining and I am sad to say goodbye to my lovable Raven Boys and Blue. I just wish it was more. Too many questions were left unanswered and there were so many loose ends.

But hopefully you enjoy it more than I did! My favorites are still The Dream Thieves and Blue Lily, Lily Blue.

Until next time,
dee (2)

4 thoughts on “The Raven King (The Raven Cycle #4) by Maggie Stiefvater

  1. Claire | Art and Soul says:

    I agree with everything you say here! Particularly with the ending being rushed after such a slow slow build up. I mean, we’ve been waiting for Blue to kiss her true love since the first sentence of Book 1 and it’s all over and done with in a couple of sentences?!?! And they find Glendower and they all just look at each other and go, “let’s leave”?!?!
    As you say, it wasn’t bad, just a bit disappointing 😦

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dee @ the Bookish Khaleesi says:

      YES!!!! I think Glendower was the biggest letdown for me! 😠 we spent 4 books looking for him and nothing became of it. Ugh! And then the kiss!
      I wanted to feel something for the kiss but it happened so fast and it was like it was no big deal!
      I am just so sad this book wasn’t that great. I was expecting something epic and it left me hanging 😩

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

