The Rose and the Dagger (The Wrath and the Dawn #2) by Renee Ahdieh

TRATDReview

First of all…this was my most anticipated book OF THE ENTIRE YEAR!  The Wrath and the Dawn was one of my favorite books of 2015 and Khalid is the love of my life!! So upon reading this beautiful book and finishing it in a day, I just have to get this out…

200

Okay, now that we got that out of our system I will attempt to write a coherent review, but it may be 90% fangirling and 10% sense.

rosedagger

The Rose and the Dagger did not disappoint at all! This was such a beautiful sequel and everything wrapped up so nicely in a perfect little bow and I could not be more satisfied. Yes, there were some things that I would have liked better and other things that I wanted more answers too but you know what? I am a happy reader and I am not going to complain about a single thing. I love/hate that Renee decided to make this a duology because we got to wrap everything up rather than have an unnecessary sequel that  ended up being just a filler. However, I would be totally impartial to more Khalid *heh heh nudge nudge*

“Cut the strings, Shazi. Fly.

Shahrzad al-Khayzuran 

Shazi! Oh my goodness this little badass was wonderful! She really slayed in this book and I couldn’t help but root for her! She was walking around threatening everyone with her dagger and throwing sass at everyone who dared give her a ‘tude. I would have liked to see her work with her magic more and what she was able to do, but that wasn’t the point of this book. She was perfect just the way she was and just as strong without it. She fought and caused so much trouble just like everyone would expect from her. She can take care of herself, but also knows that Khalid will kill anyone who dares look at her in an ill way. I love her connection with Khalid and how she is constantly trying to get people to not harm her because she knows there will be Hell to pay once Khalid fits out. How cute is Khalid and Shazi?! Like seriously. STAHP. 

“It was because they were two parts of a whole. He did not belong to her. And she did not belong to him. It was never about belonging to someone. It was about belonging together.”

icant

Khalid Ibn al-Rashid

AKA THE LOVE OF MY LIFE. Khalid’s pain in this book was just too much. I read The Mirror and the Maze right before this book and I was already in emotional turmoil over his pain over losing Shazi. I knew this book was going to kill me, but Holy Hera. I just want to wrap Khalid up in bubble wrap and keep him from harm because he is my precious cupcake! The way he deals with pain and trying to rectify his mistakes in this book truly warms my heart. He tries to do what is best for his people and his city while risking his life knowing that if he was discovered that he would likely be killed. But he doesn’t care. He is so selfless and beautiful. I love his love for Shazi. I loved his reasoning for not telling her he loves her. I love his heart and his soul. He can do no wrong in my eyes and I’ll love him forever!

This book brought out many of the secondary characters and I really liked that. I liked getting to know Irsa (Shazi’s sister) more and seeing Tariq not be an annoying version of Aspen (from The Selection) and getting to know Rahim. However, this book was seriously lacking on the Jalal al-Khoury front and I guess that just means that I am really going to have to pick up The Moth and the Flame now because I am so interested in his character and story with Despina. Speaking of Despina, holy mothballs! I was really surprised by her. I loved it because I did not see any of that coming at all!

On the otherhand, the one character I could not stand is Jahandar! He was one of the worst fathers I have read because he was so selfish and even though he redeemed himself in the end, I just could not deal with him. He was such a little weakling and I wanted to shake him. I felt so bad for Shazi and Irsa because they care so deeply about him but he couldn’t care less about them when it was them versus his precious book. I am so at the end because I would have flipped out. Actually I was flipping out and was totally about to throw my book across the room!

The Plot

This story is different from The Wrath and the Dawn and I expected it to be so, but I really enjoyed how Renee still wove in different stories within the book because that was really what made TWATD so fascinating. It was so adorable to see Shazi lay with Khalid and tell him a new story just like we had in the first book. My heart was so warm and fuzzy at that part. Especially the adorable epilogue!

There was never a dull moment in The Rose and the Dagger. It is so fast-paced and will keep you invested from start to finish. The way everything in woven together works wonderfully and the writing is as beautiful as it was in book one.

Overall, this book was fantastic. It’s definitely one of my favorites of the year and I can already say I will definitely be rereading this in the coming months because I don’t know how to say goodbye and close the page on these beautiful characters ❤

Now if you excuse me, I will not get back to my crying and mourning of the completion of one of my favorite series of all time 😥

TWATDThe Wrath and the Dawn (The Wrath and the Dawn #1) by Renee Ahdieh review

Until next time,
dee (2)

5 thoughts on “The Rose and the Dagger (The Wrath and the Dawn #2) by Renee Ahdieh

    • Dee @ the Bookish Khaleesi says:

      Khalid & Shazi are my OTP! Serious goals right there! 😍💜
      Oh good I thought it was something I missed from the novella. But at the same time I liked that I didn’t know lol
      OHGOD YAAAS! I can’t wait to read her next book because these have made her an auto-buy author! 😍

      Like

Leave a Reply

