The Winner’s Kiss (The Winner’s Trilogy #3) by Marie Rutkoski

winnerkissreview

War has begun. Arin is in the thick of it with untrustworthy new allies and the empire as his enemy. Though he has convinced himself that he no longer loves Kestrel, Arin hasn’t forgotten her, or how she became exactly the kind of person he has always despised. She cared more for the empire than she did for the lives of innocent people—and certainly more than she did for him.

At least, that’s what he thinks.

In the frozen north, Kestrel is a prisoner in a brutal work camp. As she searches desperately for a way to escape, she wishes Arin could know what she sacrificed for him. She wishes she could make the empire pay for what they’ve done to her.

But no one gets what they want just by wishing.

As the war intensifies, both Kestrel and Arin discover that the world is changing. The East is pitted against the West, and they are caught in between. With so much to lose, can anybody really win?

I am blown away once again by this series. I applaud Marie Rutkoski for creating this beautiful world and story with the most mesmerizing cast of characters. I will tuck them away in my heart forever as we close the book on this trilogy. I am so sad to say goodbye!

The Winner’s Kiss couldn’t have been a more perfect finale! It had everything I wanted and more. It was action-packed, character driven, fast paced, insightful, and breathtaking. I couldn’t get enough. The Winner’s trilogy tells a different kind of story. While much of the trilogy is centered around the political aspects of the journey, it also has one of my favorite love stories between our two characters, Kestrel and Arin. If you have read any of the previous two books you’ll know why their relationship is one of my favorites and why Kestrel is one of my favorite characters of all time.

“You don’t need to be gifted with a blade. You are your own best weapon.”

Kestrel is intelligent. Her best weapon is her mind. She’s a strategist and doesn’t need to be physically able to take down those to oppose her. She uses her mind to manipulate them to get what she wants. In a world where YA heroines are always chopping at the bit to take down whoever stands in their way with their bodies it’s refreshing to see someone, who might not even know how to shoot a gun or slash a sword, use her mind as her best weapon.

Arin is another favorite character of all time. His loyalty and love speaks volumes. I don’t know how much times I just wanted to give him a hug because my heart ached for him! He is so haunted and it breaks my heart. I am so glad he found friendship with Roshar because he needs someone in his corner, besides Kestrel, backing him up and just loving him. Besides Roshar is a riot and I love him and little Arin 😉

image1

While this book didn’t hold as much politics as the other previous books did it was action-packed and exciting. The last quarter of the book is so nerve-wrecking and I was certain something wrong was bound to happen that I was too scared to read. I didn’t want to see anything happen to these character that I have grown to love so much.

I don’t want to say too much because you will just have to read it and find out for yourself, but if you loved the previous two books you won’t be disappointed. It was a wild ride and ended so bittersweet. I couldn’t be happier its closing

Plus, HOW ADORABLE IS KESTREL AND ARIN!??! I CAN’T ❤ ❤


cHECK OUT MY REVIEWS FOR THE REST OF THE SERIES 😀

The Winner’s Curse (The Winner’s #1)

The WInner’s Crime (The Winner’s #2)

Until next time,
dee (2)

One thought on “The Winner’s Kiss (The Winner’s Trilogy #3) by Marie Rutkoski

Leave a Reply

