Lady Midnight (The Dark Artifices #1) by Cassandra Clare

ladymidnightreview

The Shadowhunters of Los Angeles star in the first novel in Cassandra Clare’s newest series, The Dark Artifices, a sequel to the internationally bestselling Mortal Instruments series. Lady Midnight is a Shadowhunters novel.

It’s been five years since the events of City of Heavenly Fire that brought the Shadowhunters to the brink of oblivion. Emma Carstairs is no longer a child in mourning, but a young woman bent on discovering what killed her parents and avenging her losses.

Together with her parabatai Julian Blackthorn, Emma must learn to trust her head and her heart as she investigates a demonic plot that stretches across Los Angeles, from the Sunset Strip to the enchanted sea that pounds the beaches of Santa Monica. If only her heart didn’t lead her in treacherous directions…

Making things even more complicated, Julian’s brother Mark—who was captured by the faeries five years ago—has been returned as a bargaining chip. The faeries are desperate to find out who is murdering their kind—and they need the Shadowhunters’ help to do it. But time works differently in faerie, so Mark has barely aged and doesn’t recognize his family. Can he ever truly return to them? Will the faeries really allow it?

First of all, I have no idea how to even begin this review because I am a puddle. A literal puddle of tears because this book as destroyed my soul a little, my heart completely. However, I have to say this is one of my favorite Cassandra Clare books I have ever read. I mean it’s up there with The Infernal Devices. Cassie really outdid herself with this book and it’s only the first one?! By the Angel, this series will be the death of me. Raziel, help me. 

Lady Midnight is the first book in Cassie’s new Shadowhunter series, The Dark Artifices. It takes place in Los Angeles, California and centers around Emma Carstairs and the Blackthorn family, whom we met briefly in City of Heavenly Fire.

I have to say that Cassie’s writing feels like home. I feel safe and warm whenever I read one of her books. I know I am going to love it and be entertained. I have yet to be really let down by Cassie and her writing just gets better and better. She has some of  the best storytelling talents that I am blown away. She keeps expanding the Shadowhunter world and it’s so intriguing! I loved that we were able to see another Institute and get a glimpse, as well as introduction to, of the Sholomance and Centurions (basically some elite Shadowhunters). I can’t wait to learn more about this world and learn more about the parabatai connection. How the heck are we going to get around this because Jules and Em need to be together!

Lady Midnight has some of the best characters. The Blackthorn family has to be my favorite family right now because there are so many cute quirks about them that just make you fall in love with every one of them. It’s so hard to decide who is my favorite because they are all special. Ty’s love for computers and Sherlock Holmes and Dru’s love for true crime and horror films, or Tavvy’s love for creating as well as Julian’s.

I feel so much pain for Julian because he is holding the entire world on his shoulders. He has had to take care of his family since he was twelve years old when he lost his father, and two older siblings, as a result of the Dark War. He is only a teenager himself and has to take care of his four younger siblings. Who takes care of Julian? Emma.

Emma and Julian are parabatai and these two will break your heart because they are so clearly in love with each other and we have been told since City of Bones that parabatai are not allowed to fall in love with each other. So how can this not be painful?

I hope we can find a way because this is just too much. I am too invested and ship them way too hard. I think they are my new favorite ship. ❤

I am not going to say much about the plot because you will just have to read it for yourself to see how amazing it is but I will say how much I loved how Cassie incorporated Annabel Lee by Edgar Allan Poe into the story. SERIOUSLY PERFECT! It was such a nice twist and I was blown away. BLOWN. AWAY.

Overall, this is my new favorite book of 2016 so far and it’s going to be pretty hard to knock this off the top spot I am in the biggest hangover due to this book.

Oh and if you were wondering, I completely recommend reading Tales from the Shadowhunter Academy novellas first before starting Lady Midnight. There are some stories that come into play in this book and one in particular twist that you wouldn’t know about unless you read TFTSA. Besides they were really good so why not? 😉

4 thoughts on “Lady Midnight (The Dark Artifices #1) by Cassandra Clare

  1. amortalreader1 says:

    Great Review, I keep seeing this book everywhere and I need to get it and read it for myself but it’s going to have to wait until summer when uni is over 😦
    Looking forward to it though, i’ll make sure to have the tissues ready as you mentioned it made you a puddle of tears 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

