Point of Retreat (Slammed #2) by Colleen Hoover

PointofRetreatReview

Layken and Will have managed to overcome the obstacles that threatened to destroy their love, proving that they are destined for one another. What they are about to learn, however, is that the things that have brought them together may be the very things that ruin their connection forever…

Layken is left second-guessing the relationship whilst Will is jumping over hurdles to prove his love for her. What the young lovers discover about themselves along this journey may change their entire world, and the lives of those who depend upon them the most…

Initial reaction:

ItsSoBeautifulCrying

I went into this book a little skeptical because I kept hearing how amazing Slammed is but then the sequels are unnecessary and not very good. I am so glad that I disagree. This book was beautiful. Absolutely beautiful. 30 pages in and I was already in tears. This book is a whirlwind of emotions and I couldn’t put it down. Yes, the plot isn’t the greatest because it seems to be a little dragged out but honestly I wouldn’t change a single thing. Colleen took her time showing you the immense love between these characters and I feel like they are apart of my life already because I love them so deeply. Every single one of them.

First of all, THANK YOU FOR WILL’S POV! It was everything I wanted and more! And second, I did not want this book because I knew that we were going to have some sort of conflict and I hated that because I just wanted my Will and Lake to be completely happy. But because it’s a sequel and CoHo, of course we were going to get some drama.

This book takes place a little while after Slammed ended and we see everyone adjusting to their new family dynamic and lives. Lake and Will have an even closer relationship with Eddie and Gavin and they are quite the family. Kel and Caulder are adorable and even made a new friend with the neighbor, eleven year old Kiersten. If you read this book and don’t say Kiersten was one of your favorite parts then you’re lying because this little girl is butterflying hilarious!

Layken: I felt so sorry for Lake. I really did. If I walked into my boyfriend’s house and saw what she saw, I would react the same way. I probably would be stubborn because I would hate to see the guy I love do the very thing he does that I love so much do to someone else. No matter how small it is, it will hurt. However, I think she went a little too long with not even letting him explain his side or talk things through. Then her tantrums over the stars from her mother were just ridiculous. Will was right, she would open every single one up and then she’d be upset that she didn’t have any left. So I understood where he was coming from. But regardless, I related to Lake. I understood her pain and her doubts.

Will: Oh good god, Will is officially bae. Top CoHo boyfriend because this man is perfect! They he loves Lake is so beautiful! I was smiling so much at everything he did to fight for her because he wasn’t letting her go. Also, the way he is with not only Caulder but with Kel? Ah so many feels!

Speaking of, how great is their relationship with the boys? Yes they aren’t exactly the most traditional parental figures, but they make do. Kel and Caulder respect them and listen to them even if they are still their siblings/best friends and that’s just so heartwarming, in my opinion. They have such a strong connection.

Honestly, I just love this book. It was light and sweet and had just the right amount of drama and sad that it didn’t bum me out. It was exactly what I needed.  It had more awesome slams (though not as many) and some great laughs, tears, and hearts-for-eyes smiling!

Plus, the little stars full of advice from Lake’s mom? OH GOD 😥

38353-the-feels-gif-2RqD.gif

Even if this book isn’t everyone’s cup of tea, it was mine and Colleen has yet to let me down!

If you’ve read Slammed and enjoyed it, but are skeptical about reading this? I say just give it a chance. You may not like it, but you may love is as well. Just give it a chance to see how you feel XD

Until next time,
dee (2)

 

2 thoughts on “Point of Retreat (Slammed #2) by Colleen Hoover

Leave a Reply

