Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince by J.K. Rowling

HPatHBP

It is the middle of the summer, but there is an unseasonal mist pressing against the windowpanes. Harry Potter is waiting nervously in his bedroom at the Dursleys’ house in Privet Drive for a visit from Professor Dumbledore himself. One of the last times he saw the Headmaster was in a fierce one-to-one duel with Lord Voldemort, and Harry can’t quite believe that Professor Dumbledore will actually appear at the Dursleys’ of all places. Why is the Professor coming to visit him now? What is it that cannot wait until Harry returns to Hogwarts in a few weeks’ time? Harry’s sixth year at Hogwarts has already got off to an unusual start, as the worlds of Muggle and magic start to intertwine…

J.K. Rowling charts Harry Potter’s latest adventures in his sixth year at Hogwarts with consummate skill and in breathtaking fashion.

I’M NOT CRYING! YOU’RE CRYING πŸ˜₯

Seriously, I don’t even know where to start with this review. I am a puddle of emotions. This book was phenomenal and I am a little loss for words. The whole series is just taken in a whole new direction with this book. Rowling really knows how to craft a wonderful story that leaves you at the end of your seat.

I am assuming many of you are acquainted with Harry Potter because I am convinced I am the last person in the world to read this series, so I won’t get too much into the writing and characters like I usually do but I will say that the bar has been raised. I loved getting a glimpse into Voldemort’s past and it really makes you understand his sinister plans and truly understand the great lengths he went to make sure he achieved his evil dreams. You have to hand it to him, he’s pretty clever and evil genius doesn’t even do him the most justice. I am sorry, but I love Voldemort! He is so twisted and creepy and everything you want in a baddie!

Harry wasn’t as angsty and shouting at everyone this year which was nice. He had a more level head and wouldn’t let go of his gut instincts which served him right in the end. I was getting so annoyed how Ron and Hermione kept brushing his suspicions under the rug because they just told he wasn’t making sense. Yes, it appears that way because of his dislike of Malfoy but at some points they just wouldn’t want to see reason anything new he had to say.  It was quite comical to see Harry outshine Hermione in Potions for once (even if he was getting help from the Half-Blood Prince book). Hermione needs to get knocked down her pedastal every once in a while. Her jealousy and distaste for the book made me roll my eyes so hard because she was just a little too much. I love Hermione so much and she is clever, but her goody-two-shoes lectures getting tiring. I loved when Ginny snapped at her about the book and not to pretend like she understands Quidditch. That’s where Ginny fully won me over!

Speaking of Ginny, I finally ship Harry and Ginny! I know it’s taken me a while but it has happened! I never cared for movie Ginny so I didn’t see the appeal of her, but this book really made me love her so much! From everyone not wanting to cross her in fear of her Bogey hexes or the way she would put Ron in his place, I just can’t help but root for her. She is a fantastic character and it bums me out that the movie didn’t portray her the way she deserves. It’s about time Harry finally reciprocates his feelings and we can have them together, however short-lived.

Overall, this book was just fantastic! I can’t get over how good it was! To get to know Snape and his backstory a bit more was so intriguing. I can’t wait to read Deathly Hallows though I am so sad to have it end because this is the last book I have to read for “the first time” ever!


 

Now quickly, here are some of my likes and dislikes:

likes

  • The Half-Blood Prince textbook! That book was so intriguing! To see so many hexes and spells that were created really helped expand the wizarding world.
  • Harry and Ginny 😍😍😍
  • Ron’s relationship with Lavender Brown and how he was too scared to break up with her.
  • Snape. He wasn’t such a cruel bully in this book. You can really see the struggle to believe if he can be trusted or not. But Dumbledore trusts him…so…
  • THE INTRODUCTION TO THE HORCRUXES!!
  • Voldemort’s past
  • All the foreshadowing that came into play from the first novels. So clever.
  • Dumbledore’s wit til the very end! 
  • Tonks and Remus! ❀
  • Harry’s sessions with Dumbledore
  • The mystery behind what the heck was Malfoy doing? πŸ˜›
  • Fred and George’s joke shop
  • The buildup of Ron and Hermione
  • THE KISS AFTER THE GRYFFINDOR QUIDDITCH MATCH OMG OMG OMG *FANGIRLING* ❀ πŸ˜„

dislikes

  • Hermione’s lectures and jealousy of Harry in Potions (as I already said)
  • Not enough of the Weasley twins >_<
  • Dumbledore’s…you know πŸ˜₯
  • That’s it. It was perfect!

Harry and Ginny appreciation

IMG_0456 IMG_0457 IMG_0299IMG_0450

β€οΈπŸ’›β€οΈπŸ’›β€οΈπŸ’›β€οΈπŸ’›β€οΈπŸ’›β€οΈπŸ’›


That’s a wrap on Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince! Thanks for reading and I’ll see in my next post!

Until next time,

dee (2)

4 thoughts on “Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince by J.K. Rowling

  1. TheBookishUnderdog says:

    Abookutopia (on YouTube) is currently reading HP for the first time too I think… So you’re not the only one (but probably very nearly the last one) πŸ˜‚ I just wanted to let you know I’ve tagged you in a challenge on my blog.

    Like

Leave a Reply

