F*ck Love by Tarryn Fisher

fcklove
Released: December 31, 2015
Format: Kindle
Genre: New Adult Contemporary Romance
Pages: 257

Helena Conway has fallen in love.
Unwillingly. Unwittingly.
But not unprovoked.
Kit Isley is everything she’s not—unstructured, untethered,
and not even a little bit careful.
It could all be so beautiful … if he wasn’t dating her best friend.
Helena must defy her heart, do the right thing, and think of others.
Until she doesn’t.

FL-FB-banner--e1451604378620.jpg

I am completely blown away by Tarryn Fisher. I have never read any of her novels before this and I am so glad this was my first book. I know she co-wrote Never Never with Colleen Hoover, but that doesn’t count. Tarryn Fisher had such a unique writing style that I am already looking into reading more of her book because she is fabulous!

“Don’t be upset that you can’t attain constant happiness. It’s the quickest way to feel like a failure in life.”

F*ck Love tells the story of a girl named Helena who has a very vivid and strange dream where she is not only in love with her best friend’s boyfriend, but they have two kids together and live in Washington where she is a popular coloring book artist. This dream takes her completely by surprise that when she wakes up she finds herself trying to make this dream become a reality. I was as confused and determined for this dream to be true right alongside Helena. Helena is flawed and has no idea who she actually is. She begins a journey to try to find herself and praying that she can be her dream self.

Helena was a delight to read. She had her issues and she wasn’t perfect by any means, but I found her to be real. I loved her internal dialogue and everything she felt seemed so relatable and, yes, real. She falls in love with her best friend’s boyfriend and though tilts the moral compass, I can understand why. Della was awful and you just have to wonder why Kit was with her to begin with. Why was Helena even friends with her to begin with? (Not that this made the situation right).

Kit, on the other hand, was completely adorable. I fell for him and his simple sweet demeanor. He was the first person to make Helena feel seen and after all, that’s all she’s really wanted. He understands Helena and their connection was so raw. I felt in my chest. My heart actually began racing and I swear I felt like I was getting high blood pressure if things weren’t going to go my way. For that, this means that this book is an instant “love.”

“This is something I’ve learned. You can’t run away to find yourself. Yourself is there no matter where you go. The difference is, if you’re running, you’ll be too busy to pick up the sword and face your enemies. Sometimes your enemy will be you; sometimes it will be those with the power to hurt you. Take off your shoes and stop running. Live barefoot and fucking fight.”

While this book is a unique sort of love story, I fell in love with Fisher’s writing and the way she made me think. I must have highlighted a million things because they just punch you in the gut and think “Oh.” I can’t wait to read more if this novel was any indication of what I have in store for me. Bonus, she threw in some awesome Harry Potter references that made me laugh-out-loud. 😀

I am so excited this was my first read for 2016 because I fell in love with it!

5Star


I am still drooling over the beautiful cover too! Ah, well if you enjoy New Adult…definitely give this a try.

Until next time,
dee (2)

 

8 thoughts on “F*ck Love by Tarryn Fisher

Leave a Reply

