Top 5 Wednesday: Retellings

t5w

Top 5 Wednesday is group created by Gingerreadslainey from Booktube. You can join and follow the Goodreads group here for future topics.

This week’s topic is so exciting! It’s favorite retellings!!  And I LOVE retellings!  So without further ado, let’s get started 😀

A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J Maas

16096824

This is my absolute favorite book/retelling. Not only is Beauty and the Beast my favorite fairytale/Disney movie, but I thought SJM did a fantastic job weaving in the classic fairytale in with her own folklore. Besides, can we all talk about how hot Tamlin, Rhys, AND Lucien are? *swoon*

The Wrath & the Dawn by Renee Ahdieh

18798983

An epic and beautiful retelling of A Thousand and One Nights completely captured my heart and has not let go since. This book means a lot to me!

The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer

tlc

 

I am sure everyone knows by now about these retellings. This is one of my favorite series and each book is so fantastic. I love all the little passages from the original stories that fit so perfectly with what’s to come in story. Plus, Kai ❤

Cinder – Cinderella
Scarlet – Little Red Riding Hood
Cress – Rapunzel
Winter – Snow White

Cruel Beauty by Rosamund Hodge

15839984

Another Beauty and the Beast retelling! I really enjoyed this book. Though I wish I would have been more blown away, I still really enjoyed it. The magic and world were so beautiful!

Throne of Glass by Sarah J Maas

Throne-of-glass-cover

This book was based slightly on a scene from Cinderella. I didn’t even realize this until I saw it on an article about popular YA retellings. How cool!


Ta da! What are some of your retellings? Do you have any suggestions? I love reading these and am always looking for more.

Anywho, thanks for reading.

Until next time,

dee (2)

8 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Retellings

    • Dee @ the Bookish Khaleesi says:

      Yeah, I was surprised too when I found out. So I did some research and it was based off a scene from Cinderella. I believe it was the ball. Pretty cool. ACOTAR is so amazing! I am sure you will love it (:
      I loved Lunar Chronicles. I still wish there were more lol I just enjoyed reading the retelling so much.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Windie @ Geek Apprentice says:

        The masked ball that she sneaked into? Wow, I didn’t even suspect it. Hahaha. Well done Ms. Maas.
        Ah yess, I cannot wait to read it. Tamlin, Feyre, and co get mentioned all the time in the blogosphere. I am very curious. 😉
        I actually haven’t read Cress and Winter (I sort of saving them for the holiday), but I really enjoy the first two.

        Like

  1. cw @ readthinkponder says:

    I love this list, Dee! I especially loved Cruel Beauty. :’) It was so beautiful and I was sobbing at the end hahaha. I’ve yet to finish the Lunar Chronicles series – I read Cinder and thought it was just okay — does it get better with each book? A lot of people seemed to like Winter a lot!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dee @ the Bookish Khaleesi says:

      Thanks, CW!!! I really enjoyed it as well! I mean, I love any Beauty and the Beast retelling but I really liked how unique it was 😀
      The Lunar Chronicles does get better with each book. I personally didn’t care for Scarlet and many people love it, but story wise, it does get better and better – especially Cress and Winter 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      • cw @ readthinkponder says:

        Oh okay, that’s good to hear (about the Lunar Chronicles)!! I don’t know, I wasn’t very swept away by the Chinese influences, they felt a little cheap and weird to me. But I’ll take your word for it and will continue the series next year! ♥

        Like

  2. captivatedbywords says:

    Yes the Lunar Chronicles and ACOTAR! I have yet to read Wrath of Dawn or Cruel Beauty. I have to kill half of my TBR before I start buying any other books. I had no idea Throne of Glass was a retelling, I am curious now and I am going to look that up.

    Like

Leave a Reply

