Right Where You Are by L.E. Bross

lebross

Goodreads

Right Where You Are
Author: L.E. Bross
Publisher: Pocket Star
Released: November 16, 2015
Format: eBook; Kindle
Genre: New Adult Contemporary Romance
Series: Second Chances
In Series: 1
Completed:  November 9, 2015

Avery Melrose is used to having it all. So when her boyfriend cheats on her, she reacts like any spoiled rich girl-she freaks out and vandalizes his new truck, Carrie Underwood style. Now she’s stuck with 300 hours of community service doing road-side garbage duty.

Seth Hunter just got out of prison, and after a few hundred hours picking up litter on the side of the highway, he can finally put his mistakes behind him. If he can string together some kind of existence, maybe it’ll be enough to get his sister away from their stepfather, the man who sent Seth to prison in the first place.

A romance between these two is doomed from the start. Girls like Avery want castles and white horses, and Seth is no prince charming.

But sometimes, being around Avery makes Seth think he could make something of himself. Maybe even be worthy of a girl like her. It’s just too bad real life gets in the way first, tearing these two apart before they have any chance of getting to Happily Ever After.

*Received a copy of this book from Netgalley in exchange of an honest review*

Warning: This book is recommended for readers 18+ years or older due to strong sexual content. 

I enjoyed reading this book. It was quick, easy, and entertaining. I enjoyed the sarcastic banter between Seth and Avery and their instant chemistry. Their bicker was what instantly drew me into the story. However, I found myself losing interest. I enjoyed the connection between Seth and Avery towards the end, but right off the bat it felt like it was too focused on the sexual attraction. I didn’t feel their angst or undeniable connection I had kept reading over and over. It was just sexual frustration on both sides and I really didn’t feel any bond until they finally got to know each other. Besides their awesome sarcastic banter, I thought they moved too fast. Maybe it was because I had read two previous reviews of this book and it was hyped that I expected more or I just have read too many New Adult books that they are starting to feel the same, but this was just average. I enjoyed it, but it was just okay.

Avery and Seth were both stuck in some unfortunate situations and were trying to right their mistakes. Avery is stuck on a path that she doesn’t care for and just trying to get her family off her back by doing what they please. Seth served a year in prison for just trying to protect his sister from their awful stepfather and is left with a restraining order that leaves him unable to even see her, nonetheless see her. I think the character I sympathized more for was Seth. I was rooting for him from the beginning because he was just trying to better his life so he could get his sister away from their stepdad. Avery has a great support that Seth needed to have in his corner and I loved their relationship once they got together, but I just wish he didn’t do such a cowardly thing towards the end. I am glad he made up for it, but it made me so mad to begin with! If I were Avery, I am surprised she didn’t punch him in the face 😉

The overall plot was okay. It follows these two characters that try so hard to stay away from each other but they keep getting drawn to each other but this unmistakable attraction. It was pretty slow in the beginning, a little slower in the middle, but quickly picks up in the end. The writing itself was great. It flowed nicely and was easy to get into and read rather quickly. On the other hand, some of the dialogue just rubbed me the wrong way. It felt a little forced or fake. I also didn’t like the amount of times that Seth called Avery “baby” because sometimes it was every sentence. I think it’s cute when guys call their girlfriend baby here in there because its a form of endearment, but the amount of times it was used just made me cringe, given the dialogue. I don’t know it may just be me nitpicking.

Overall, this was an entertaining, fast read and I did enjoy it. However, I just wish there was more to this story beside the sex.  I’m not trying to be a prude or anything because I have read some novels that had heavy sexual content that are some of my favorite novels. This one, however, is just not one of them. But I did still enjoy it. I don’t want this to sound too negative because I did still have fun.

3stars

2 thoughts on “Right Where You Are by L.E. Bross

Leave a Reply

