Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire (Harry Potter #4) by J.K. Rowling

Harry_Potter_and_the_Goblet_of_Fire_(US_cover)

Goodreads

Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire
Author: J.K. Rowling
Published by: Arthur A. Levine Books
Released: July 8, 2000
Genre: Young Adult Fantasy
Series: Harry Potter
In Series: 4
Format: Hardcover
Pages: 734

The summer holidays are dragging on and Harry Potter can’t wait for the start of the school year. It is his fourth year at Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry and there are spells to be learnt and (unluckily) Potions and Divination lessons to be attended. But Harry can’t know that the atmosphere is darkening around him, and his worst enemy is preparing a fate that it seems will be inescapable …With characteristic wit, fast-paced humour and marvellous emotional depth, J.K. Rowling has proved herself yet again to be a master story-teller

I have no words so I’ll let Ron summarize for me…

That-Was-Bloody-Brilliant-Ronald-Weasley-Gif

“If you want to know what a man’s like, take a good look at how he treats his inferiors, not his equals.”

Completely blown away by this book, I find myself in awe once again at Rowling’s magical gift of storytelling. She really went beyond herself with this series. It’s evident how much thought and heart went into these books because you can pick out hints at stuff that doesn’t even come into play until the later books. Because I have already watched the movies a dozen times at least, I was able to pick up on such hints but I am still pleasantly surprised by how she delivered. There was so much, so much, in this book that I absolutely loved. We are given a load of information more about You-Know-Who that we didn’t already and really understand what happened to him while he was withering without his powers. The whole book was really long and felt a little slow at times, especially in the beginning, however I still loved every second of it. I really never have a single complaint when it comes to this series because everything fits into play so nicely and is so stunning.

Harry, Ron, and Hermione are really starting to grow up and you see that blossoming in this book. Things are changing between them. You see that happen with Ron and Harry’s fight, Ron and Hermione’s fight, and they come out even stronger than before. I can’t get enough of these three. They are truly the best friendship I have ever read and nothing else will compare. I really enjoy who Harry is becoming. He is growing stronger and trusting himself more. Hermione is growing into a firecracker and I love it! Her standing up for house-elves and going against Rita Skeeter were so entertaining. I loved seeing Ron’s jealousy take hold of him in this book because it just shows him vulnerable and real. Oh! And the way The Weasley’s are just officially Harry’s family now completely warmed my heart. I loved seeing Mr. Weasley lecture Uncle Vernon into saying goodbye to Harry when he was leaving and how Mrs. Weasley and Bill were there waiting for him before the Third Task ❤ ❤

“I’m never wearing them,” Ron was saying stubbornly. “Never.”
“Fine,” snapped Mrs. Weasley. “Go naked. And, Harry, make sure you get a picture of him. Goodness knows I could do with a laugh.”

Also, I have to admit it was so cute to see strong, brooding Vickor Krum so smitten over our beloved Hermione. Or should I say Herm-own-ninny 🙂

The plot was fantastic. I don’t think I was ever bored for one second. I loved the introduction of new Wizardry schools outside Hogwarts and bringing them together for the Triwizard Tournament. The Tournament itself was pretty awesome with the awesome plot twist at the end. Everything connected so beautifully! I get so excited reading it while all the pieces fall into place *sigh* Though I still did cry my eyes out when…you know…happened 😥

“Understanding is the first step to acceptance, and only with acceptance can there be recovery.”

I’ve heard countless times how each book gets darker and darker, and though I saw the evidence of this beginning with Prisoner of Azkaban, it really built its foundation with this book. Boy was it darker! Now I can see why people say that only the first two books were really “children’s books” but the series afterwards matures. I couldn’t agree more. Goblet of Fire is definitely my favorite book so far. It has always been my favorite movie so I was excited to read this one. Though I can undoubtedly say that this is my favorite book it is no longer my favorite movie of the series. There was just too much that they left out that I thought would have been important. Now I know, guys. Now I know 😥

Favorite part? Snuffles. Definitely Snuffles.

FullSizeRender (21)

3 thoughts on “Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire (Harry Potter #4) by J.K. Rowling

Leave a Reply

