Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

missperegrine_334x518

Goodreads

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children
Author: Ransom Riggs
Published by: Quirk
Released: June 7, 2011
Format: Hardcover, 1st Edition
Genre: Young Adult Fantasy, Paranormal, Mystery
Series: Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children
In Series: 1
Pages:352
Read in: October 2015

A mysterious island. An abandoned orphanage. A strange collection of curious photographs.

A horrific family tragedy sets sixteen-year-old Jacob journeying to a remote island off the coast of Wales, where he discovers the crumbling ruins of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children. As Jacob explores its abandoned bedrooms and hallways, it becomes clear that the children were more than just peculiar. They may have been dangerous. They may have been quarantined on a deserted island for good reason. And somehow—impossible though it seems—they may still be alive.

A spine-tingling fantasy illustrated with haunting vintage photography,Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children will delight adults, teens, and anyone who relishes an adventure in the shadows.

I am having some trouble with what I should really say about this book so this may be pretty short.

“I used to dream about escaping my ordinary life, but my life was never ordinary. I had simply failed to notice how extraordinary it was.”

In a nutshell, I really enjoyed this book. I thought it was an interesting plot and I really enjoyed Ransom Riggs’s writing style. However, I just didn’t love it quite as much as others seem to. I read this after Jessethereader raves about it over and over on booktube, but sadly I did not love it as much as he seems to.I really enjoyed it and fell in love with the design of the book but I kind of expected more. For a “mystery/horror” book it wasn’t scary at all and seemed a little calm. The only thing that scared me were those photos! Holy guacamole those photos were terrifying! The fact that they were real is terrifying itself and I loved how the photos were woven into the story so nicely.

“We cling to our fairy tales until the price for believing in them becomes too high.”

The only thing that kept me from being blown away, I think, is that there wasn’t that much conflict and the big scene at the end was a little mediocre. But I still really had a lot of fun reading it. I enjoyed all the characters and their unique abilities. The story is filled with so many memorable quotes and characters that I will definitely be continuing the series.

“I didn’t know what to call it, what was happening between us, but I liked it. It felt silly and fragile and good.”

Overall, I had fun. I liked it. I didn’t hate it, but I didn’t love it either. I was expecting to fall in love so I am a really bummed that I didn’t 😦

I am giving it 4 stars because I really did enjoy the beautiful writing.

FullSizeRender (20)

21 thoughts on “Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

  1. Giselle @ Hardwork Boulevard says:

    I’m so excited to read the entire series particularly the Library of Souls! I think everybody has already read the book but me. This is one of the favorite series of Jesse The Reader so I have a positive feeling I’m going to like this book and reading your review makes me want to read it even more! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

