The Rose Society (The Young Elites #2) by Marie Lu

IMG_7100

Goodreads

The Rose Elites
Author: Marie Lu
Published by: Putnam
Released: October 13, 2015
Genre: Young Adult Fantasy
Series: The Young Elites
In Series: 2
Pages: 416
Format: Hardcover
Read: October 14-15, 2015

Once upon a time, a girl had a father, a prince, a society of friends. Then they betrayed her, and she destroyed them all.

Adelina Amouteru’s heart has suffered at the hands of both family and friends, turning her down the bitter path of revenge. Now known and feared as the White Wolf, she and her sister flee Kenettra to find other Young Elites in the hopes of building her own army of allies. Her goal: to strike down the Inquisition Axis, the white-cloaked soldiers who nearly killed her.

But Adelina is no heroine. Her powers, fed only by fear and hate, have started to grow beyond her control. She does not trust her newfound Elite friends. Teren Santoro, leader of the Inquisition, wants her dead. And her former friends, Raffaele and the Dagger Society, want to stop her thirst for vengeance. Adelina struggles to cling to the good within her. But how can someone be good, when her very existence depends on darkness?


Wow, when Marie Lu said this book was darker she meant it was darker. If you’ve been following me for a while, you know Marie Lu is one of my all time favorite authors and The Rose Society was the one book I’ve been itching to get my hands on. I can proudly say it was worth the wait. Lu’s writing was so much more captivating with the way she weaved in Adelina’s growing darkness and guilt. I felt for Adelina because you see her really struggle in this book. I liked the steady pace of this book and even though I felt like it was definitely a filler book and a way to set up future events, there were some surprising twists that kept me engaged. I was never bored for one second and I ended up flying through the book. Before I knew it, I was done! If you are a Marie Lu fan, I honestly don’t think you will be disappointed because it is so different from Legend and anything else I’ve read before. It’s refreshing.

Lu introduces some new characters in this book and I loved two of them: Magiano and Sergio. Magiano has become my new favorite character in this trilogy because he is sarcastic, funny, strong, and just so dang lovable. He accepts Adelina for what she is. He encourages her not to hide behind her mask and instead tells her to embrace her marking because it makes her her and she is beautiful. Seriously, how can you not love him after that? He gives the acceptance that she has always been chasing after and I can’t help but root for him. I am sorry, but I have to ship them. I have to! Plus I became a puddle every time he said “my love” 😍😍😍

Sergio, on the other hand, was a great addition. Marie Lu hinted at him in The Young Elites and it was so awesome to see her bring him into play in this novel. He is The Rainmaker that Raffaele said couldn’t learn to control his powers and well…he can control them now Raf! I can’t wait to see more

Speaking of Raffaele, I honestly don’t know how I feel about him at this point. Part of him likes him, but another bigger part of me hates him. I am so confused. I just have no idea. I guess the next book will have to be the deciding factor.

But let’s talk about why we are really here. Adelina. Poor little White Wolf. She wants to just belong and have a place and be loved, but she is cast out by those she trusted and she is struggling. She is growing on fear far worse than that of the first book and it is scary. Seriously, you do not want to mess with her. She has a few thoughts that truly gave me the chills.

Lu did not disappoint with this awesome sequel. I feel like I’ve been waiting years for this book and I was so pleased with it. I can’t wait to see where this trilogy goes because after the events in this book (that I won’t even hint at because of spoilers), you can rest assure it’s going to be awesome.

Overall, this book is amazing. I enjoy Marie Lu’s style of writing and the way she made this series really dark. It’s so interesting to see the story from the antihero’s journey and I can’t wait to see where the road she’s on takes her. I recommend this series to everyone because it’s so different than other stories and so compelling.

Go read it! Read it!

And if you do and need someone to fangirl with, you know where to find me! 😀 ❤

FullSizeRender (21)

8 thoughts on “The Rose Society (The Young Elites #2) by Marie Lu

Leave a Reply

