The End Game by Kate McCarthy

Goodreads

Goodreads

The End Game
Author: Kate McCarthy
Released: September 8,2015
Pages: 441
Genre: New Adult Contemporary, Sports Romance


Synopsis:

“Professional athletes are pillars of their respective communities. They are heroes in the eyes of boys and girls and are expected to conduct themselves in a manner that positively represents their community.”

The public loves a good scandal. Seeing someone fall from the pinnacle of success makes a great headline. No one knows that better than I do. What started out as a promising career in college football, spiralled into scandal and shame.

But being a hero is easier said then done. Especially when there are those who expected to see the great Brody Madden fail. I craved nothing except being the best—willing to do anything to prove them wrong. But I went too far, and I tried too hard, and it broke me.

“At the time of going to print, Jordan Elliott was unavailable for comment.”

I met Brody Madden in my senior year of college. An Australian native on an international scholarship, I was the female soccer sensation with stars in her eyes and no room for a hotshot wide receiver with a chip on his shoulder.

But a heart bursting with ambition and a driving fire to succeed isn’t made of stone. I became his strength, his obsession, and the greatest love of his life. Only I wasn’t there when he needed me most.

This is a story about love and a game that takes everything. Where the path to glory is paved with sacrifice. Where pressure makes you, or breaks you, and triumph is born in the ashes of failure. Where two people’s end game will change everything.

*** 18+ recommended. Contains adult language and adult themes.


Opinion:

I am at a complete loss of words. This book nearly killed me. I was up until 2AM reading this book with eyes blurry from tears that I couldn’t even see and clutching my chest because it just hurt so dang much! I picked this up when I saw someone recommend it on Instagram expecting a cute, fluffy romance between a soccer girl and a football star and it was so much more than that! I did not expect it to be so heavy, but boy was it heavy. I am in complete love with it. I am obsessed with it! Thank you, McCarthy for writing such a heartbreaking, but beautiful story.

What I loved most about this book was its two characters, Jordan and Brody. These two couldn’t be more perfect for each other because they pushed each other and called the other on their crap. They weren’t easy on each other because they loved each other with such a deep love that I could feel it all the way down to my toes. Their story is now Top 3 Contemporary favorites of mine. I could not stop reading because I was so absorbed that I needed to know how it would end. Now that it has, I am saddened that I don’t have anymore. HOLY BOOK HANGOVER.

Jordan Elliot. Jordan had such a sweet yet powerful voice. She was strong and innocent, but fierce and independent. She didn’t take crap from anyone. I loved how motivated and determined she was or how hard she pushed herself to make sure she made her soccer dream come true. Not only for herself, but her brother too who gave up his own dream for her. The way she was with Brody was just…I can’t. It was amazing. Seriously, their love could move mountains.

Brody Madden. Oh god. Brody nearly killed me at least 50 times with his heartbreaking voice and story. Reading how he saw himself was enough to make me want to cry alone, but all the other aspects of his life? It was rough. This guy tries so hard to be the best and prove that he is worthy for people who just don’t care. Ugh! His family life was so terrible and seeing what he had to go through just made me want to punch his father in his face! I was actually smiling when Brody did punch his father a couple times. Good for you, Brody. His battles with his career totally outweigh his own battles he holds within himself and it’s just so sad! You have nothing else to do but root for him because you just want him to be happy and to see himself for the true treasure that he is. All his life his own family told him he wouldn’t be enough so he had to make football count so he would do whatever, literally whatever, it takes to make sure he does.

Brody just made the top of the book boyfriend list, right at the tippity top. I love this beautiful man.

This was the first book I read by Kate McCarthy and it definitely won’t be the last. If you love sports romance books or just looking for something beautiful, then definitely pick this one up. It was raw and vulnerable and will make you feel every emotion while reading it that you won’t regret it. Such an inspiring read for me for sure.

All the feels. All the stars.

FullSizeRender (21)

One thought on “The End Game by Kate McCarthy

Leave a Reply

