Losing Hope (Hopeless #2) by Colleen Hoover

losing-hope

Click photo for Goodreads

Losing Hope
Author: Colleen Hoover
Published by: Atria Books
Released: July 8, 2013
Genre: New Adult, Contemporary, Romance
Series: Hopeless
In Series: 2
Pages: 321
Read in: May 2015


Synopsis:

In the follow-up to Colleen Hoover’s #1 New York Times bestseller Hopeless, the charming and irresistible Dean Holder tells the passionate story that has melted thousands of hearts.

In Hopeless, Sky left no secret unearthed, no feeling unshared, and no memory forgotten, but Holder’s past remained a mystery.

Still haunted by the little girl he let walk away, Holder has spent his entire life searching for her in an attempt to finally rid himself of the crushing guilt he has felt for years. But he could not have anticipated that the moment they reconnect, even greater remorse would overwhelm him…

Sometimes in life, if we wish to move forward, we must first dig deep into our past and make amends. In Losing Hope, bestselling author Colleen Hoover reveals what was going on inside Holder’s head during all those hopeless moments—and whether he can gain the peace he desperately needs.


Opinion:

I am not going to go into too much detail and I’ll keep this short and sweet since Losing Hope is the same story as Hopeless just from Dean’s POV. I can’t say I enjoyed this one more than Hopeless because that book was really special and unlike anything I have ever read before, but I did get a whole lot more out of this book. It gave me a front row seat to not only what happened with Hope and his search to find her, but Dean’s struggle with telling Sky the truth. It was heartbreaking to read his “letters” to Les. Oh god I think I cried reading every single one of them because they were so heartbreaking and he was so vulnerable in his hatred for Les for leaving him.

“I wonder if it’s possible for people to fall in love with a person one characteristic at a time, or if you fall for the entire person at once.” 

Also, can we just agree that Dean Holder is the most perfect fictional male? Damn straight. After reading Hopeless I was so excited to get my hands on Losing Hope to read Dean’s perspective and if I wasn’t already so in love with him this book would have tripped me and pushed me headfirst into obsession. This book was just even more beautiful and full of such raw emotion that I couldn’t set it down. I constantly wanted Dean and Sky. They have such an amazing story that will stay with me forever. Colleen Hoover is a queen for her ability to make me fall in love with a story and its characters so effortlessly.

This novel also introduces Dean’s best friend, Daniel. Daniel is a precious cupcake. He is hilarious and just someone you want to constantly be around. He has Dean’s back 100%, he’s loyal and just a riot. He has a nickname for everyone and they are usually so random or vulgar, but it actually how he shows he cares about that person. I can’t get over the fact that he calls Sky “Cheese Tits”! Or Tessa “Val”?!

“I call her Val because it’s short for Valium and I always tell her she needs to take that shit by the bucketful. I wasn’t lying when I said she was fucking crazy.” 

Also, this book gives a new look into Brecken and his awesome double agent friendship he had with Dean. How adorable was that? I love him and I loved Dean for being his friend too.

“All those nights you held me and just let me cry . . . you have no idea how many
times you’ve already saved me.” 

Overall, this book was fantastic. Truly memorable. This whole series was. I can’t get enough of these characters. If you read Hopeless, you have to read this book. No question. No hesitation. Read it! Right now. It’s so heartbreaking and beautiful, you’ll love it!

FullSizeRender (21)

Leave a Reply

