Ready Player One by Ernest Cline

021915_ReadyPlayerOne_Cover

Click photo for Goodreads

Ready Player One
Author: Ernest Cline
Published by: Random House NY
Genre: Science Fiction, Young Adult, Dystopia
Pages: 374


Synopsis:

In the year 2044, reality is an ugly place. The only time teenage Wade Watts really feels alive is when he’s jacked into the virtual utopia known as the OASIS. Wade’s devoted his life to studying the puzzles hidden within this world’s digital confines, puzzles that are based on their creator’s obsession with the pop culture of decades past and that promise massive power and fortune to whoever can unlock them. When Wade stumbles upon the first clue, he finds himself beset by players willing to kill to take this ultimate prize. The race is on, and if Wade’s going to survive, he’ll have to win—and confront the real world he’s always been so desperate to escape.


Opinion: 

ready_player_one_by_alexiel1910-d6evwf31

I am completely awed by this book! It was so FANTASTIC! I honestly wasn’t expecting to like it as much as I did because I am not a gamer by any means, but I quickly fell in love with this story and I think that is what’s so beautiful about this story that so many people can love it regardless if you are into video games or not. Cline really told an epic story for many to love while tipping his hat off to the geeky gamers.

First of all, the writing was amazing. The way Cline mixed 80s pop culture beautifully into his story was mesmerizing. It constantly made me giggle every time he was dropping names from from 80s plus our present that were woven into this futuristic dystopian that he created. Also, how cool was it that some of the simulations actually threw the characters into an exact replica of some of the old movies/games? I thought that was really interesting! Cline created new games all the while mixing in old games. It was truly genius!

Parzival_Fan_Art_AlexielAprilI really don’t have too much to say about the characters because we didn’t really get to know anyone other than Wade. We meet Aech, Art3mis, Daito and Shoto, but don’t really know much about them outside their avatars. Which kind of bummed me out because I really liked Art3mis and Aech and would have loved to see more of them. However, I really enjoyed Wade and his avatar Parzival. He was obsessed with everything Halliday and it made him surprisingly clever. I enjoyed going through the simulation with him and hunting for the egg. The other thing that really bothered me was when he met Art3mis and became a little goober. I was getting annoyed that he wouldn’t just keep the search for the egg or solve the riddle to find the Jade Key. He completely gave up and spend his entire time hanging out with Art3mis, which is realistic. He was an 18 year old guy and meet his cyber crush, of course he is going to want to get to know her and talk to her all the time, but it made him kind of careless. For example, the evil Sixers (the evil corporation who is trying to obtain the egg and take over OASIS) straight out tries to kill him and forces him off the grid! Please tell me why he thinks it would be okay to set out into public with a very huge target on his back to attend one of the Founders of OASIS’s birthday party?! Come on, Wade! Come on!

Art3mis_Fan_Art_AlexielAprilOn the other hand, I commend Art3mis for realizing they were being idiots and took a step back to continue the search. She was smart in telling Wade that they shouldn’t lose sight of the hunt and cut off all ties with him until the hunt was over, which then turned Wade into a whiney lovestruck teenager pining over someone he never even met,but he’s 18. I’m cutting him some slack. Even though I wanted to scream at him to get his stuff together and go looking for that dang jade key already! I wish I would have been able to see more of her and how she solved the riddles or her journey because oh my gosh she is awesome!

Overall, this book was amazing. I love the villains in this story because it really made me hate them so much so that calls for a good villain. I loved the story about the search for the egg. The world was pretty cool and the whole OASIS simulation was awesome! I can’t wait to see this come to life.

The overall message of this story is really fantastic too. It just goes to show you that entering an alternate reality is okay to escape your own world once and a while, but don’t forget to unplug and live your life.

FullSizeRender (20)

One thought on “Ready Player One by Ernest Cline

Leave a Reply

