A Court of Thorns and Roses (A Court of Thorns and Roses #1) by Sarah J Maas

16096824A Court of Thorns and Roses
Author: Sarah J Maas
Published by: Bloomsbury
Released: May 5, 2015
Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Romance, New Adult, Retellings
Pages: 416
Series: A Court of Thorns and Roses
In Series: 1
Add to Goodreads
Read: May 2015


Synopsis:

A thrilling, seductive new series from New York Times bestselling author Sarah J. Maas, blending Beauty and the Beast with faerie lore.

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R. R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down!


My Reaction:

*This review is a little fangirly* 

This book will be the death of me! I think it’s safe to say that Sarah J. Maas is unquestionably a genius when it comes to building a great fantasy novel. Not only did this book have great mix of faerie lore, but it was a fantastic retelling of Beauty and the Beast (which is my favorite movie of all time). This book is one of my favorites for 2015 for sure.

Oh and be warned, this book is marked as Young Adult slightly leaning over the scale to New Adult.

I loved this world! I loved these characters! I loved EVERY SINGLE HOT GUY IN THIS GLORIOUS BOOK! Oh man! TAMLIN! LUCIEN! RHYS! I don’t think my heart could take anymore hot guys! I loved the sweet romance between Tamlin and Feyre! It was heartwarming, sweet, funny and perfect! I loved the friendship and protectiveness between Lucien and Feyre and even the new found relationship between Rhysand and Feyre!

Feyre was such a strong female lead and I absolutely loved her character development. I can’t wait to see what else is in store for her! She had such hatred and resentment in her heart that it was such a complete 180 to see her so selfless at the end. The lengths she went to save not only Tamlin, but the very faeries that she hated in the beginning. Plus, she’s such a bad@$$.

The only thing that really bothered me was her worthless family. I could not stand these people! They sent out their younger sister/daughter to go deal with everything while they sat around and were useless. She had to feed them and clothe them and they just were so ungrateful. I am glad we saw a little improvement from her older sister towards the end, but my god it was agonizing. I was so happy when Feyre was able to leave them because they were making me roll my eyes to the back of its sockets.

Also, how specific was that curse? I was like “whoa good thing all of these things happened because this is quite a list.”

This book has a great plot. I was fascinated by it all. It not only had a great, fun romance, but some action as well. I was at the edge of my seat every time Feyre met a new challenge and was so nervous for her!

Now as for the world, the world is so beautiful that I just want to see every single court. I want to live at the Night Court with Rhys and stay at the Spring Court to be courted by Tamlin. The Fae are so intriguing. I want more!

And we just can’t forget about Tamlin’s sweet, cute attempts to court Feyre. I couldn’t stop laughing!

“You look . . . better than before.”

Was that a compliment? I could have sworn Lucien gave Tamlin an encouraging nod.

“And you hair is . . . clean.”

Oh,poor Tamlin has no game. *sighs*

As much as I liked Tamlin, he lost so badly to Rhysand! Rhys is so intriguing and I can’t want to see more of him because holy guacamole! ❤ ❤ ❤

I loved how he fought to help Fey in the trials and fought for and with her. I know he did some messed up things like dressing her up and parading her, but honestly he had his reasons.

GAH! SARAH J. MAAS!! HOW AM I SUPPOSED TO WAIT A WHOLE YEAR FOR THE NEXT BOOK?! MY EYEBALLS NEED IT NOW! 

FullSizeRender (21)

5 thoughts on “A Court of Thorns and Roses (A Court of Thorns and Roses #1) by Sarah J Maas

  1. MyTinyObsessions says:

    yay, I’m so glad you loved this book. I’ve read it several months ago and I still think about it all the time. It’s so amazing. The Fae males on this book are outstanding and Tamlin at first was so out of touch, his attempts at flirting were hilarious 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

