The Mid-Year Freak Out Tag

FullSizeRender (2)

I saw this tag on My Tiny Obsessions blog and thought it looked so fun! I am a little late on the mid-year, but better late than never right?

BEST BOOK YOU’VE READ SO FAR IN 2015
16096824From the books released (and I actually read on time), I’ll have to say that A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J Maas is by far my favorite. I have completely fallen in love with Maas’s writing style and she quickly became my auto-buy author. This book was fantastic. Once I heard that this  was a sort of retelling of Beauty and the Beast with twist I knew immediately I needed to read it. I was definitely not disappointed either. I love Sarah’s fae in the worlds that she creates. She builds such beautiful interesting worlds and some majorly hot guys. This book has not one, not two, but three! *fans self*

BEST SEQUEL YOU’VE READ SO FAR IN 2015
17167166My favorite definitely has to be Crown of Midnight by Sarah J Maas (again). Throne of Glass has quickly become my favorite series and just gets better and better. I found this sequel to be really enjoyable. I sometimes really don’t enjoy sequels as much because they feel like filler books, but this brought so much more to the table and I loved it. Though I did feel like there were many times where it dragged on a bit and felt slow, but I was entertained regardless.

NEW RELEASE YOU HAVEN’T READ YET, BUT WANT TO
20443207I really, really need to read this sequel ASAP! I really enjoyed the first one and I am just itching to read this because I need to know what happens next! Did my ship sail?! Oof!

MOST ANTICIPATED RELEASE FOR THE SECOND HALF OF THE YEAR
23846013 18006496Wow I am really starting to look like a SJMaas groupie or something, lol.
Aside from Queen of Shadows, I am really looking forward to The Rose Society by Marie Lu, the sequel to The Young Elites.

BIGGEST DISAPPOINTMENT
6442769I have come to the conclusion that I am just not a John Green fan. I may in the minority here because everyone praises this book so much so I was really excited to read especially because the movie was coming out. So many people said this was their favorite Green book and I have to say it is way too overhyped. There wasn’t anything about this book that I liked. John Green does throw in some great writing that so many quote left and right, but aside from those few instances I don’t find his work compelling. This book was so boring and the ending was the worst. I know it’s realistic, but Margo is such a terrible character and jerk that I just can’t jump on board for this book. I did not like it one bit. I am sorry if this is your favorite book…

BIGGEST SURPRISE
11235712I know I am late to the party. I finally read The Lunar Chronicles recently and fell in love. I put off reading this series for so long because I just didn’t like the whole idea of cyborgs mixed with a Cinderella twist. I am not the best fan of sci-fi to begin with, but because so many people love this series I decided it was time. So I picked up CInder and I, too, fell in love. I am shocked. I devoured Cinder so quickly that I immediately needed the next books in the series.

FAVORITE NEW AUTHOR (DEBUT OR NEW TO YOU)
3433047 4600197How many of you are surprised Sarah J Maas is included? No one? Okay good. I am doing one thing right (; But alongside Queen Maas I have to include Renee Ahdieh. I read her debut novel The Wrath and the Dawn and was completely blown away. I love her writing style and the beautiful story she has created. I look forward to reading more of her novels and definitely the next books in the series.

NEWEST FICTIONAL CRUSH
prince_dorian_havilliard_by_cosmic_frequencies-d8b890mI have to say Dorian Havilliard from Throne of Glass series. I just have to! I mean I have a new fictional crush in every book I read so it’s impossible to keep track of them all, but I absolutely love Dorian. I do have a weakness for royalty too… But! Dorian is such a complex character. He is loyal to Celaena and loves her regardless of who she is. The fact that he found out who she really was and didn’t think twice that he needed to help her take down HIS DAD just made me love him so much. He is learning to be a strong person himself and owning his powers. I look forward to seeing him grow even more in the coming books.

NEWEST FAVORITE CHARACTER
47e5ce71ccfb4890e624d033d2b8ccd0Ronan Lynch, hands down. This guy is so fascinating. I think he is my favorite part of The Raven Cycle series. He is such a d*ck and I just love him for it. He tells it like it is and ohemgee so great. He has a very interesting ability and is so dark, but so loyal to not only his friends, but his family. He doesn’t show how he feels and he acts like the tough guy, but deep down he is a softie and I know it!

BOOK THAT MADE YOU CRY
17788401If you’ve read Ugly Love you know exactly what I am talking about here. This book completely surprised me. I had no idea that’s where we were headed when I was reading this book and I just have to commend Hoover for her beautiful stories. There has not been one book that I have read by her that she didn’t surprise me. She is just a fantatic writer and I am in awe of her. I absolutely love her.

BOOK THAT MADE YOU HAPPY
18660447Contemporary books make me happy. They are so cute, and sometimes really cheesy, but always make me feel all giddy. I usually read them in-between series or when I am reading too much of one genre so I don’t enter a reading slump. Or I am trying to get out of a reading slump. This book was really adorable and I loved it! I just discovered Kasie West when I read The Distance Between Us and it wasn’t my favorite, but On The Fence is fantastic! So of course when I saw The Fill-In Boyfriend it became my most anticipated contemp books. It lived up to all my anticipation because it was such a cute book. I definitely am going to reread this one.

FAVORITE BOOK TO FILM ADAPTATION YOU SAW THIS YEAR
maze-runner-the-scorch-trials-posterCan I say The Scorch Trials? I am saying The Scorch Trials (: I already know I am going to love it! I mean it comes out in a couple weeks anyway…

FAVORITE REVIEW YOU’VE WRITTEN THIS YEAR
I have no idea. I am still making this blog up since I am transferring over from blogger. I don’t know…you tell me. Which review is your favorite of mine so far? I am too critical of myself so I think all my reviews suck D:

MOST BEAUTIFUL BOOK YOU’VE BOUGHT SO FAR THIS YEAR (OR RECEIVED)

187989835620b-1583998422836575The Wrath and the Dawn is just stunning! I couldn’t stop looking at it. I love the peek through that you can see of the main character Shahrzad and the inside is just as stunning. The pages are deckled and I just love deckled pages. I can’t help it. Cruel Beauty is really pretty to me as well. I love the rose and the girl running down the stairs. I think it is perfect for a retelling of Beauty and the Beast. As for 99 Day, I just think it’s adorable. I love the polaroids and the font. Fonts that look handwritten are always my favorite.

WHAT BOOKS DO YOU NEED TO READ BY THE END OF THE YEAR?

9781595148032_AnEmberintheAshes_CV-1421421976This book is so hyped up right now and I feel so left out that I haven’t read it yet! I just bought it though so it’s just a matter of time! I am so excited.

Well there you have it! If you liked this tag, I TAG YOU!

3 thoughts on “The Mid-Year Freak Out Tag

  1. The Wild Bookworms says:

    Oh my god, I’m so excited for the scorch trials too! Have you read the maze runner book series? And it sure sounds like I need to try a Sarah J Mass book because I’ve heard everyone raving about her but I’ve never read any of her books. xx J

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

